Orange Almond Biscotti II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
Fantastic biscotti! I recommend baking them at a lower temp (160 degreesC) for 30mins for the first baking, as this ensures the insides dry out thoroughly without the top browning too much. these were so delicious - i added a little more almond extract, some chopped dried apricots and a handful of white chocolate chip and they were wonderful! next time i think i'll try forming the dough into three or four loaves to make smaller biscotti, as two loaves makes each one quite big. this really is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I love making these for my family and friends. I use whole wheat flour and splenda instead of sugar. I also add 1/3 cup wheat germ and sometimes ground flax seeds. I too have increased the almond flavor to 1 teaspoon. I add applesauce if the dough gets too dry and dip my hands in flour to handle the dough if it is too sticky. There're healthy and delicious and I can't make enough of them. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
This is fantatic!!!! I made some mistakes when I first made biscotti. It is a sticky dough. It doesn't roll. Don't even try! Just put some parchment paper on your sheet and spoon it on in a three inch by however long section until you get as many of these as it takes. Kind of ice it into a biscotti shape. Bake it and then cut it and then bake it for about 8 more minutes. It is great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
The flavor is wonderful but making them is a nightmare! I made this recipe twice (I thought I did it wrong the first time), both times being careful to measure accurately with no modifications. It was so sticky, it was impossible to form a log. I ended up just spreading it out, like peanut butter, into more or less the right shape with a spatula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
These are the best biscotti's I've ever made and the easiest. I did change it a bit and add dried cherries and some lemon peel. Sometimes I add about 1/2 to 1 teaspoon lemon oil. My husband loves these. Can't make enough!! Just expermint and add different things to the base. Worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
Absolutely delicious! You need to make this; you will not be disappointed. After they cooled I dipped the tops in melted Bakers-SemiSweet Squares (8 OZ box). I found mixing the dough into a ball on the counter top easier. Also, I had no problem with serrated knife-just sawed across the top,then applied pressure to slice. THIS ONES A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
My family loves biscotti. This one is especially good. Because we are almond and orange nuts, I toasted 3/4 cups of sliced almonds and increased the orange zest to 2 Tablespoons. A nice lively flavor! Thanks Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brooke
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I'm having a hard time rating this biscotti...it's actually okay but I probably won't make it again. Unfortunately, I can't decide what exactly is bothering me about the flavor. I can say that it was very easy to prepare. One of my logs was ultimately bigger than the other and therefore I discovered, while slicing it, that the dough was still raw. I cooked those slices a bit longer than the others and they were absolutely fine in the end. I also like the consistancy of this biscotti. It's hard, but not so hard that it's tearing up your palate. Next time I'll probably try it without the orange and with more almond extract. Anyhow, happy baking! Update-I made this again but I replaced the almonds and orange with approx 3/4 c. coconut and 1 tsp of vanilla. I like them more than the first batch, but I think I know the underlying problem now. The background tastes like egg. I'm going to search for a recipe with fewer eggs, which is a shame because the consistancy of these are very nice - hard but once they're dipped they soften perfectly. So the search continues...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I've made lots of different biscotti but this one didn't quite work for me. I loved the orange flavor with the almond but the egg flavor was pretty prominent. Like another reviewer said, I think there are better recipes out there. I always use wet hands to form the loaves and these were no exception. I baked on parchment paper but they spread out very much (side to side) and were only about 1 inch thick. Other biscotti turn out much taller and more of the shape I'm used to. Guess I'll just stick with my tried and true recipe here on AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
This recipe is great. I've made it a number of times and always with great success. When I've made it with cranberries, I've replaced the almond extract with vanilla. Also, there have been a few times where the dough had been rather dry, and in those instances, I've added the juice of one orange (usually the one I zest for the recipe anyway). Yummy. My husband has requested a copy of this recipe so he can make a batch whenever he has a craving for them (which is often).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States