Orange Almond Biscotti II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I made these as directed and found them to be a little bland, but this is definitely a good base to experiment with different flavors. I will make these again with different nuts and fruits and more extract or vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker75463

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Superb taste that I have enhanced by adding a second tablespoon of orange zest, 1/4 teaspoon of orange extract, and 3/4 cup mixture of craisins, chopped dried mango, candied ginger, and floured Pennant candied (fruitcake) fruit. Cake is crisp yet chewy. Rave reviews but no complaints yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Good recipe. I added some extra almond extract like others suggested, but still wasn't enough. Next time will try with anise as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccooley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emmett, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Perfect! I use dried cranberries and usually leave out the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I've made lots of different biscotti but this one didn't quite work for me. I loved the orange flavor with the almond but the egg flavor was pretty prominent. Like another reviewer said, I think there are better recipes out there. I always use wet hands to form the loaves and these were no exception. I baked on parchment paper but they spread out very much (side to side) and were only about 1 inch thick. Other biscotti turn out much taller and more of the shape I'm used to. Guess I'll just stick with my tried and true recipe here on AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by Brooke
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I'm having a hard time rating this biscotti...it's actually okay but I probably won't make it again. Unfortunately, I can't decide what exactly is bothering me about the flavor. I can say that it was very easy to prepare. One of my logs was ultimately bigger than the other and therefore I discovered, while slicing it, that the dough was still raw. I cooked those slices a bit longer than the others and they were absolutely fine in the end. I also like the consistancy of this biscotti. It's hard, but not so hard that it's tearing up your palate. Next time I'll probably try it without the orange and with more almond extract. Anyhow, happy baking! Update-I made this again but I replaced the almonds and orange with approx 3/4 c. coconut and 1 tsp of vanilla. I like them more than the first batch, but I think I know the underlying problem now. The background tastes like egg. I'm going to search for a recipe with fewer eggs, which is a shame because the consistancy of these are very nice - hard but once they're dipped they soften perfectly. So the search continues...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I made these for an open house my mo was doing and everyone raved and had several people ask for the recipe. I decreased the sugar to 1 cup and took out 1/4 cup of almonds and added 1/2 cup of chopped cranberries and just the tiniest squeeze of lemon juice to help moisten the dough a little bit. It was very sticky and had to do as others and just kind of shape it with a spatula, but the finished product was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Loved the recipe, I added an extra egg, gave it just enough more moisture! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baker Beth
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This was the best biscotti I have ever had! I used 2 teaspoons of anise extract, and added diced candied green cherries. I used the suggestion made to reduce the temperature to 260F for the first baking, and then added a few minutes to the final baking phase. Crispy, wonderful aroma and taste, and gorgeous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Just ok. Made these and another batch and there is no comparison that the other one was so much better. these were too hard/crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States