Orange Almond Biscotti I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I didn't have orange or almond, but I used this recipe as a base. I added cranberries and vanilla instead. The biscotti was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Read the comments of others and have these suggestions... Decrease the flour to 2-1/2 to 3 cups (depending on the humidity since the flour will absorb moisture). The orange peel isn't optional if you want that flavor and to heighten the almond add 1/2 teaspoon almond extract. These turned out delicate when firts out of the oven but with the second baking they became a very nice biscotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
This recipe is too dry. It has very little flavor and is very heavy. I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
I love this recipe! The flavor ad texture are wonderful. However, I cut the flour down to 2 3/4 cups. I also have great results using orange extract instead of zest. It's easy to make and the results are consistent! We love to dip/coat our's on one end with chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMX6BOYS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
This recipe calls for butter? The biscotti tastes to thick. Can this recipe survive without the butter? Biscotti should be light and crispy, not heavy and buttery. Not bad.. but definately not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
I made biscotti with a similar recipe, except I used 2 cups of flour, cut salt to 1/4 tsp., 4 tbsp of butter and used added 2 tbsp. orange zest PLUS minced orange meat (not optional). I also added Grand Marnier and Almond Extract for a more adult flavor. This will guarantee a slightly more moist and fluffier consistency. It really is a good recipe, the amounts of the ingredients are just off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
I was a bit disapointed. The dough was so dry, when mixing, I had to add a third egg. (All my other biscotti recipes with the same amount of dry ingreds call for 3 eggs) By then, it was a little late for the extra egg and my biscotti were quite heavy textured. The orange was a nice flovour, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHIQUITA2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2000
This was made for a cub scout meeting. Cranberries were substituted for the almonds and it was wonderful. My 2 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
These are the BEST biscotties. Everyone raves about them. I have made them numerous times and they never stick around for very long
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
first time making biscotti, turned out pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States