Open-Faced Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Very interesting and good recipe! I used thawed frozen corn because I was unable to get fresh. I did, however, use fresh hierloom tomatoes from the farmer's market, and fresh basil from my basil plant, so there was a lot of fresh-ness going on. ;) next time I would add more basil. I also sliced the tomatoes instead of doing wedges. Served with fresh canteloupe for a good Sunday brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
Quick, easy and delicious, all in one skillet! It't colorful and would make a beautiful brunch dish for company (if you can get it out of your pan in one piece, which takes just a bit of skill!) I've always used frozen corn for this recipe. In a pinch I've substituted sweet or plain onions for the green onions and it still tastes great. I have even used dried basil but fresh basil leaves make it taste better and look more elegant. The recipe says "1 1/2 finely chopped basil" without a measurement - I took that to mean 1 1/2 fresh leaves and it seemed about right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I liked it a lot. The tomatoes and egg were a good combination. I wouldn't change anything about the recipe, although I did use some egg whites instead of whole eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
This recipe was good, but I think I will make a few changes next time. First of all, I'd slice the tomatoes as the wedges didn't cook at all and were quite hard. Secondly, I'd use a lower heat as I found that the bottom of the omelette cooked a lot faster than the top. But that could have been because I forgot to add the milk. Also, I used dried basil and I think it would have better fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
Very good flavor, I especially liked the taste of the fresh basil. The presentation of the dish is very colorful and would be a nice dish to serve for company. I have added this omelet to my recipe box and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
Yum. I didn't use tomatoes and substituted spring onions for the corn kernels, since I didn't have these at hand, and the result was still yummy! I particularly liked the extra flavor added by basil and the melted cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Zamorska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
One of the most enjoyable easy quick recipes I have ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
We liked this...the basil adds great flavor and you can change the type of vegetables too. I want to try spinach and mushrooms next time. We did add the tomatoes earlier than written so they would cook up a little. We also added two more eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
cooks in 10 minutes, covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States