Open-Faced Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
We liked this...the basil adds great flavor and you can change the type of vegetables too. I want to try spinach and mushrooms next time. We did add the tomatoes earlier than written so they would cook up a little. We also added two more eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
cooks in 10 minutes, covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Very interesting and good recipe! I used thawed frozen corn because I was unable to get fresh. I did, however, use fresh hierloom tomatoes from the farmer's market, and fresh basil from my basil plant, so there was a lot of fresh-ness going on. ;) next time I would add more basil. I also sliced the tomatoes instead of doing wedges. Served with fresh canteloupe for a good Sunday brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
This recipe was good, but I think I will make a few changes next time. First of all, I'd slice the tomatoes as the wedges didn't cook at all and were quite hard. Secondly, I'd use a lower heat as I found that the bottom of the omelette cooked a lot faster than the top. But that could have been because I forgot to add the milk. Also, I used dried basil and I think it would have better fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
Quick, easy and delicious, all in one skillet! It't colorful and would make a beautiful brunch dish for company (if you can get it out of your pan in one piece, which takes just a bit of skill!) I've always used frozen corn for this recipe. In a pinch I've substituted sweet or plain onions for the green onions and it still tastes great. I have even used dried basil but fresh basil leaves make it taste better and look more elegant. The recipe says "1 1/2 finely chopped basil" without a measurement - I took that to mean 1 1/2 fresh leaves and it seemed about right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I liked it a lot. The tomatoes and egg were a good combination. I wouldn't change anything about the recipe, although I did use some egg whites instead of whole eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
Very good flavor, I especially liked the taste of the fresh basil. The presentation of the dish is very colorful and would be a nice dish to serve for company. I have added this omelet to my recipe box and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
Yum. I didn't use tomatoes and substituted spring onions for the corn kernels, since I didn't have these at hand, and the result was still yummy! I particularly liked the extra flavor added by basil and the melted cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Zamorska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
One of the most enjoyable easy quick recipes I have ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States