Open-Faced Broiled Roast Beef Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I thought this was great. I served it with the fresh tomato and basil soup. I also made these with turkey, and they were great! The only thing I would do differently, is take the meat out earier or warm it in the microwave. The few minutes of broiling was not enough to warm the meat up all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
I gave this quick, easy, kid friendly, tasty recipe 5 stars!! This is very fast and tasty!! Easy to make to your liken! The kids love it!! I made two varieties. For the adults I used leftover Tri-tip and garlic roasted cheese and for the kids I used deli ham and American sliced cheese (thier favorite). We all loved this wonderful meal and we are all stuffed! They are huge (depending on the size of Hoagie). Something fast and tasty is always welcome in my house! Especially when you can jazz it up in so many ways!! Try it you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FERBONIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
Wow! This was great. I have used chicken and turkey as well and it always tastes super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridgette Cutler Burbank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Great idea for a quick yummy dinner... Best thing is you can make each sandwhich to each persons liking. Definately warm the meat in microwave before placing in oven. I used garlic butter spread on the hoggie rolls before adding the may/or mustard of choice. 5 stars for a quick great dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
No hoagies so I used a quality whole wheat bread. I kept everything else the same. I did have to increase the mayonnaise and mustard but that's always purely up to the taste of whoever's making the sandwich. My boys and I absolutely loved this sandwich. Everything went together wonderfully and it was a wonderful combination with chicken noodle soup on a cold, rainy day. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Yummy Scrummy! We change out the meats and cheeses and it is always a hit! My teenagers love Subway sandwiches (so do I) but I don't love the prices, so this is a great alternative. We usually add shredded lettuce. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
This was wonderful! I was surprised how good it was since it has typical sandwich ingredients, but broiling it made all the difference! We will definitely have this again. And it was so quick too. We made this duriing the summer and used our BBQ instead of the broiler so we didn't heat up the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
I'm not even a huge fan of deli-sliced roast beef but this was pretty good! I used miracle whip and dijon mustard - mixed the two together in a small bowl before spreading on the hoagie buns. Also - I added some sliced onion, no tomato and colby jack cheese. I'm sure any deli meat would work! Good and simple lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
pretty bland! may try this again with horseradish instead of the mayo-mustard mix to give it some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Crazy good! Husband LOVED it. I used horseradish flavored cheese instead of provolone though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef on Weck, Part 2: Roast Beef

See how to make the pride of Western New York, the Beef on Weck sandwich.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States