Open Face Mozzarella Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Great sandwich. Fresh ingredients - use ripe pomodori - and you'd never know the bread was a leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bussum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Wonderful sandwich that's quick, easy and delicious! I used a loaf of Italian breaf. I toasted the bread in the broiler first, salted the tomatoes in order to get the water out of them and added a little cracked black pepper. I didn't bother putting this in the oven but enjoyed this with just the bread being toasted. I cut in into sections and wow - excellent without a ton of effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This is also great with roasted red peppers! Or a little bit of fresh garlic...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Mendez
Home Town: New Providence, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This would make an awesome panini sandwich! Same ingredients-just add another slice of bread and grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I just love tomato and cheese sandwiches. Didn't have a whole tomato so I cut up a handful of salad/grape tomatoes to cover a piece of whole wheat bread. Used shredded mozzarella cheese, fresh basil, 1/4 tsp each of EVOO and balsamic vinegar. This is so light and heavenly. These would also be great with a slice of provel cheese. I will be making these again and again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
We have eating a version of this a long time. But first, toast bread and rub raw garlic on it while it is still warm. 1/2 Cheese goes on bread first, then tomato, rest of cheese, then basil. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Amazing! My family loves this combination of ingredients but I've usually made it as an appetizer, without heating it. As a heated sandwich - this is definitely a new favorite of ours! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I made this two ways. Half as the recipe is written, and half with a piece of prosciutto tucked in there. My boyfriend couldn't have loved the prosciutto version more, and he is NEVER excited about food. I did end up baking everything about 11 minutes and then broiling for about 3 minutes. I have to say it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I LOVE this combination....! But of course, you have to work with what you have. I only had the garlic Texas Toast (thats in the frozen food area) - so this is a MUST from now on - you MUST try it with the garlic Texas Toast guys!! Oh, and make sure you toast it in the oven 1st, then flip it over to put the fresh tomato (I sprinkled basil on the tomato) and mozzarella cheese on it - then back in the oven so it can melt good. I loved the drizzle of balsamic dressing to top it off! THANKS FOR MAKING MY MIDNIGHT SNACK A HIT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
My family loved this easy to make meal. I was worried the bread would be soggy from the tomato but is wasn't. I highly recommend for a quick and elegant meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Fried Mortadella Sandwich

Raise the fried bologna sandwich to incredible new heights!

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States