Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
I used to make cinnamon rolls and stick buns professionally. Here is how we rolled tight buns. Make sure you roll your dough out to 1/4". Apply butter evenly, then sugar/cinnamon mixture. Holding the rolling pin, gently roll over the sugar/cinnamon mixture. At the beginning of the roll only 1/2" of dough and pinch down. Now you must begin rolling from each corner, middle, working your way back and forth. Curve your corners toward the center to avoid too much overlap (exess) IMPT: after about 2-3 rolls, carefully lift up each portion and pull away from you, this will "tuck" in the dough, be careful not to tear the dough. A lot to remember, but after you get the hang of it, it's like second nature and you will have picture perfect cinnamon rolls and sticky buns
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
This is a good cinnamon roll recipe. Here's a trick for cutting the rolls without mashing the dough: take a piece of thread, slide it under the roll, cross the thread and pull quickly. It works like magic, and you don't have a sticky knife to clean up afterwards!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
949 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
These cinnamon buns are THE BEST EVER!!! I loved them so much, just a tip: the longer you let them rise, the fluffier and better they taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
642 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Mine weren't so ooey-gooey. I made per the recipe---except I didn't add the pecans to the brown sugar/cinnamon mixture that went inside the rolls. I would suggest not melting the butter that you spread on the inside before you roll it up. If you just spread on a thin layer of softened butter you should end up with a more ooey-gooey feel because you'll have more butter on the inside to melt, which will make the caramel more gooey. When you use the melted butter you don't get a lot of butter on the inside & I found this tended to give me a dryer--but still good--caramel roll. I will try again, but next time I won't melt my butter. Have made a couple more times & it definitely works better not to melt the butter for the inside and then I double the caramel for the bottom. Still a good recipe, hence the 4 stars, but does need some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNDiana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windom, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
The best!! I come from a long line of bakers.. this is great! I used half whole wheat flour...incredible. To easily cut the dough, use dental floss. Slide it under the end, cross the dental floss at the top and pull. Perfect cuts every time! If you want more ooey-gooey, just add a little cream or whole milk (3-4 tablespoons) to the butter, brown sugar mixture in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I came to this recipe this morning and made these wonderful sticky buns. I changed only these two areas: I used a 9 X 9 baking pan and I made a little extra filling. In addition I made some simple white icing and I have to say this is one of the best sticky buns I have ever had; and I've had quite a lot over the years. I never thought I'd make a world class sticky bun but I was wrong. I would highly suggest taking extra time and being extra careful when reading the directions. In addition, I allowed my first rise to go for approx. 2 hours and it came out perfect. If you want great sticky buns that will knock the socks off your friends and family, this is it! Happy Holidays from Maggie's kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This buns are yummy! They taste like the Cinna-Buns. They are one of those treats you do only a couple of times a year because they are not the healthiest thing but flavor-wise they are awesome. We did not add the pecans because my kids do not like the nuts but they were great. Present Idea: Prepare batches and put them in disposable aluminium containers - you can give them away and put the baking instructions and a DO NOT BAKE UNTIL CHRISTMAS MORNING Sign. They will love it and remember you on Christmas morning when the cinnamon smell comes out of the oven! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I am a lucky baker, meaning I have no idea what I'm doing most of the time, but it usually works out pretty well in the end. When I made these for a dinner party I was having - I was a little worried - but they turned out well. Too well. The buns were so unbelievably and incredibly delicious I kind of got scared. I felt like I had created something so devastating, so powerful, that it would wreak havoc on humanity. I knew what it was like to be Oppenheimer, surveying the results of his work. So PLEASE be careful when and where you make these - they are beyond humanity's control; this cinnamon bun WILL NOT BE DENIED AND WILL HAVE ITS WAY WITH YOU! Consider yourself warned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
These were spectacular! I ate them warm out of the oven so hopefully they are good warmed up. I would suggest a little more caramel on the top, there was only "just enough." To get more sauce, instead of mixing 3/4 butter with 3/4 brown sugar, you can mix 1 1/4 cup of butter with 1 1/4 cup of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
We loved this breakfast treat! It IS time consuming (I had to start these by 8am so that they'd be done for our brunch at around 11am) but they were very good! We only had to bake for 18-20 minutes (as another reviewer stated) and they didn't "dry out" for us. I noticed other complaints that they tasted stale when cooled...but we didn't have that problem since we don't like cooled caramel rolls anyways. The few that were leftover were reheated a few hours later this afternoon in the microwave for a few seconds and tasted as good as the original batch out of the oven! I'll be sure not to lose this recipe! Thanks Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 643) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States