Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
i was so nervous trying this recipe out but boy was it worth it!! I followed the recipe almost exactly, with some minor changes as I could only find instant yeast that comes in 11gm packets where I live. I used about 1 3/4 teaspoons of instant yeast as the equivalent. I also let the dough rise for the same amount of time as above even with instant yeast. It's true what @JEWEL1190 notes that the longer you let them rise, the flufflier they become. And, instead of melting the butter, i brushed the butter at room temperature (I live in the tropical rainforest climate, everything melts at room temperature) over the dough and it worked out fine. The aroma in the house was incredible and by the time I served them, they were all gone in a matter of minutes. At everyone's request, will definitely do these again, even if it involves quite a bit of effort and bucket loads of patience. Well, you can alway reply emails, cook dinner or finish up a blog while waiting for the dough to rise. :) LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
love it taste so delicious and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
These are absolutely the best Cinnamon Rolls I have ever tasted !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Yum! I used this recipe to make cinnamon buns (w/o the sticky goo). I've never made them from scratch before so I was a little nervous but they turned out very nicely. I did everything in the recipe except the part where you make the sugar/butter/pecan stuff. Just put the cut rolls in a buttered dish, let them rise, and then baked them. I glazed them with a little maple syrup when they came out of the oven. So so good! Oh and I added a little vanilla to the milk mixture out of habit but I'm not sure if it really made a big difference. Thanks for the great recipe! Will be making again! Would like to try the gooey buns next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I experimented a bit- I really like substituting butter with coconut oil so I was exited to try. Everything went fine except the sauce & filling.(I split this recipe into 3 separate batches after the first proof (i.e. bread rising) My first batch with coconut oil instead of butter separated so had to dump it- the next caramel sauce and filling I did with butter and I used half a cup for both the filling and the topping sauce unfortunately I misunderstood the instructions and prepared my filling sauce the same way as the pan sauce-merely adding cinnamon-this resulted in a LOT of mess and most of the filling baked out:( so I used the rest of that as my topping sauce for the next batch. also the sauce on the first batch came out more like toffee than caramel :( started hardening even while still pretty hot. Also only needed to bake about 20 minutes- The next batch I spread softened butter onto the roll & covered in the sugar mix. they rolled up nicely, & filling stayed in place but I had the same problem with the sauce and adjusted cooking time again. The third I mixed the sugar mixture with a bit of softened coconut oil instead of melting it and used it like a paste for the topping which I spread over the tops and bottoms. for the filling I treated the coconut oil like the butter in the last one. the filling came out ok sauce not so much. Bottom line- I would NOT cook with the sauce and instead make caramel sauce separately with the addition of milk. base dough = awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Destiny Cooper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Thank you! thank you! thank you! We have attempted baking cinnamon buns in the past, but our endeavours failed. We thought we'd give it one more try with your recipe and instructions. Wow! The buns turned out fluffy and soft and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
These are the best I have ever made. Thanks for sharing. I know these will be a regular treat with my family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
the first time I have ever made Cinnamon Buns was from this recipe, everyone loved them soo much, all my gma asked for for mothers day was for some more Cinnamon Buns, I will use this recipe for years to come, ty soo!!! much for putting this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beloved
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Delicious! I made these cinnamon buns a total of three times, the second was a bit of a fail. You don't want to start making the cinnamon butter mixture until after you roll the dough out or it will get too hard. I like to bring it to a complete boil and then put it in the bottom of my pan. You also want to make sure you don't roll them too tight or they won't cook in the middle but will be hard on the outside. I also don't add all of the flour and Sift the cinnamon and sugar topping together:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I was disappointed with the recipe. I cut the dough in half, making one 9-inch round pan of sticky buns, and one of cinnamon rolls. The bake time is woefully too long, resulting in a burned sugar mess on the bottom of the sticky bun pan. I will try again, making the following changes: Use a bread machine to make the dough. Add a bit of nutmeg to the dough. Spread softened butter over dough & then sprinkle with cinnamon & brown sugar for the filling. Use thread or dental floss to cut the rolls. Add 2-4 T. cream or milk to the "ooey gooey" topping in the bottom of the pan. (And I may just cube cold butter & sprinkle in the bottom of the pan with the brown sugar rather than melting together.) Change from metal to glass pans in an effort to prevent burning. Bake at 350 degrees for 18 minutes -- and start checking at 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 677) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States