Ooey Goey Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
I send in breakfast goodies on the weekends that my husband works and this was today's fare. I changed the recipe to make it a little more "breakfasty" and the staff said this might have been the best thing I sent in during the 6 years that he has worked there!! The changes I made were: putting a layer of blueberry pie filling between the cake layer and the cheese filling, and I decreased the sugar (based on other reviews) to 2/3 cup white sugar. I also added about 2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice to the cheese filling and garnished it with lemon zest. I wish I could have tried a piece but my husband said it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belmond, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Sometimes called "Gooey Butter Cake". It is really sweet, so skip this if you don't care for sweet desserts. But it wasn't as heavy as I thought it might be considering the ingredients. It also doesn't have that "cake mix" taste which surprised me. Paula Deen suggests some interesting variations on this recipe, with pumpkin pie filling added to the cream cheese, or crushed pineapple, or lemon or chocolate or mashed bananas. You can doctor up the cream cheese layer many, many ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Ok, these are great tasting bars! I did cut back on the powdered sugar like the other reviews said, to about 2 1/4 cups, and added 2 Tbls of lemon juice, the fam loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PACKERMOM04
Home Town: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
Yum! And sooooooo easy! My husband and kids gobbled this up like it was their last day on earth. I'm dressing it up by using chocolate cake mix and topping it with vanilla ice cream and a homemade hot fudge sauce for a dinner party tonight! One note - mine took longer to bake than the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sand Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Rensselaer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Made this twice. First I followed recipe exactly and second time made changes. 4 Stars as written, but 5 stars with these changes: Reduce sugar to 2 cups and add 2 1/2 Tablespoons lemon juice to cream cheese mixture for a "cheesecake like taste"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Not like a cake and not ooey goey. It turned out like a thin bar cookie with a sugar cookie like taste. Not sure how it could be served for breakfast as some have said? It would be the equivalent of eating a very sugary cookie. And, I followed the recipe exactly. Expected something very different. The cream cheese, which was why I made it, was invisible visually and in taste. I saw some in the store and they looked just like mine, so I must have done it right. There is cake mix in the recipe and cream cheese, but this recipe makes nothing more than a plain crispy very sugary cookie bar. If that is what you are looking for, then you might like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2000
This cake is so good, it never lasts long. I used this recipe to make cookies and the where gone the same day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I made this dessert three times in two days, so that should say just how much of a hit it was. The first day, I cooked it as directed and it came out much "gooier". The second day, I let it cook longer than the listed time, and it firmed a bit more. I think I liked it better firmer. I did make two changes to the recipe. I added a pinch of lemon extract(very very minute amount) and I also mixed in chopped pecans into the cake batter mixture. This is by far my favorite "cake" dessert ever!! It is going into my recipe binder for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
Last Halloween, I went to a party and my friend's mother made this. She called it "That" cake because her kids always said, "I want some of that." I have been looking for the recipe and here it is. I also discovered that it is also called Texas Gold Bars. Yummy. Everyone needs to have this recipe in their files.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
This recipe got my attention because of the name. It is ooey, gooey and OH SO DELICIOUS! Easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States