Ooey Goey Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
very sweet but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This was excellent. I tried it according to the original recipe and with one change ( I added a carmel sauce between layers) and I thought that both were excellent. Everyone loved this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I made this dessert three times in two days, so that should say just how much of a hit it was. The first day, I cooked it as directed and it came out much "gooier". The second day, I let it cook longer than the listed time, and it firmed a bit more. I think I liked it better firmer. I did make two changes to the recipe. I added a pinch of lemon extract(very very minute amount) and I also mixed in chopped pecans into the cake batter mixture. This is by far my favorite "cake" dessert ever!! It is going into my recipe binder for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Really good cake. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Made this twice. First I followed recipe exactly and second time made changes. 4 Stars as written, but 5 stars with these changes: Reduce sugar to 2 cups and add 2 1/2 Tablespoons lemon juice to cream cheese mixture for a "cheesecake like taste"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Not like a cake and not ooey goey. It turned out like a thin bar cookie with a sugar cookie like taste. Not sure how it could be served for breakfast as some have said? It would be the equivalent of eating a very sugary cookie. And, I followed the recipe exactly. Expected something very different. The cream cheese, which was why I made it, was invisible visually and in taste. I saw some in the store and they looked just like mine, so I must have done it right. There is cake mix in the recipe and cream cheese, but this recipe makes nothing more than a plain crispy very sugary cookie bar. If that is what you are looking for, then you might like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Every Thanksgiving one of my family members brings this desert to dinner and I just love it... I was overjoyed to find this recipe. I have made it a least 4 times in the last 2 months.. as a matter of fact I am making a double batch to take to work on Monday.!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheesecakemama
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
The first time I made this was off a package of cream cheese. It's very good, but it's rich. If you are not into sweet and rich, this is not for you. I don't always use as the full amount of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Jackie
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I make these all the time.The only thing I do different is to add 1 teaspoon vanilla to the filling. They are always a hit. I first got the recipe from a Paula Deen magazine. She calls it Gooey Butter Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Beechgrove, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States