Ooey Goey Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I made this dessert three times in two days, so that should say just how much of a hit it was. The first day, I cooked it as directed and it came out much "gooier". The second day, I let it cook longer than the listed time, and it firmed a bit more. I think I liked it better firmer. I did make two changes to the recipe. I added a pinch of lemon extract(very very minute amount) and I also mixed in chopped pecans into the cake batter mixture. This is by far my favorite "cake" dessert ever!! It is going into my recipe binder for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Really good cake. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Made this twice. First I followed recipe exactly and second time made changes. 4 Stars as written, but 5 stars with these changes: Reduce sugar to 2 cups and add 2 1/2 Tablespoons lemon juice to cream cheese mixture for a "cheesecake like taste"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Not like a cake and not ooey goey. It turned out like a thin bar cookie with a sugar cookie like taste. Not sure how it could be served for breakfast as some have said? It would be the equivalent of eating a very sugary cookie. And, I followed the recipe exactly. Expected something very different. The cream cheese, which was why I made it, was invisible visually and in taste. I saw some in the store and they looked just like mine, so I must have done it right. There is cake mix in the recipe and cream cheese, but this recipe makes nothing more than a plain crispy very sugary cookie bar. If that is what you are looking for, then you might like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Every Thanksgiving one of my family members brings this desert to dinner and I just love it... I was overjoyed to find this recipe. I have made it a least 4 times in the last 2 months.. as a matter of fact I am making a double batch to take to work on Monday.!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheesecakemama
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
The first time I made this was off a package of cream cheese. It's very good, but it's rich. If you are not into sweet and rich, this is not for you. I don't always use as the full amount of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Jackie
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I make these all the time.The only thing I do different is to add 1 teaspoon vanilla to the filling. They are always a hit. I first got the recipe from a Paula Deen magazine. She calls it Gooey Butter Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Beechgrove, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Sometimes called "Gooey Butter Cake". It is really sweet, so skip this if you don't care for sweet desserts. But it wasn't as heavy as I thought it might be considering the ingredients. It also doesn't have that "cake mix" taste which surprised me. Paula Deen suggests some interesting variations on this recipe, with pumpkin pie filling added to the cream cheese, or crushed pineapple, or lemon or chocolate or mashed bananas. You can doctor up the cream cheese layer many, many ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I love this recipe! My mother-in-law always makes this (although she calls them Chess Squares) and it's a huge hit. Now I make it too and always get asked for the recipe. I wanted to make these for some friends but can't find my mother-in-law's cookbook, so I looked on here and found it. I don't know if what I used is 4 cups of conf sugar, I just used a one pound box of conf sugar because I do remember that from her recipe. And I'm actually trying it with chocolate cake mix this time and I think I'll try the blueberry suggestion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States