Ono Spareribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
These ribs should be renamed OhYes spareribs. Made these last night for New Years Eve dinner along with a baked potato & crab salad, just wonderful. The only thing I did different was to loosely cover the ribs with foil the first 45 minutes of cooking. I used the left over drippings to drizzle over ribs. This recipe is a KEEPER! Thank you Luz2bake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 52GLASSACT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlowton, Montana, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Used this recipe for chicken thighs. It is super. Had some left over that I thinned down a bit and used as a sandwich condiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Climax, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Very good. A nice alternative to regular BBQ. Sticky, sweet and tart. The sauce is delicious. I shaved the ginger and used more than called for, because I love ginger - so good! In my oven, next time I will cook at a lower temp for longer. Cook only the amount that will be eaten. While very delicious hot and fresh, these are terrible reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I agree with Luv2Bake. These are definitely a great addition to any New Years Eve Party or appetizer buffet.I served extra sauce on the side. Nothing but rave reviews from my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I just have to add, and laugh, ono in Hawaii means delicious. But yes it is a yes. These are a no brainer yummy treat. If you want to make it for a meal, I buy whatever sparerib I have (I'm not in Hawaii and the small sizes aren't as available) and just cook a little longer if it is a larger piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Excellent! I used 1.5 pound of pork spareribs (just the two of us tonight). Instead of garlic salt I used two fresh garlic cloves, chopped and grated the ginger as well. I heated up the sauce then poured it over the ribs to bake at 325 degrees. I covered the baking pan with foil tightly the first 45 minutes, then turned it over to the other side for another 45 minutes. There was a wonderful aroma filling up my house while the ribs were baking. I sprinkled the ribs with toasted sesame seeds before serving. The meat was tender, not tough, and full of flavor. The sauce itself has a nice balance of slight sweetness with subtle “tang” in each bite. The sauce also baked right into the meat making it so savory, juicy, sticky sweet and finger licking ONOlicious! I did not want to waste the sauce so I reserved it to pour over the ribs and rice. I served with, “Green Bean and Mushroom Medley,” also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Excellent. Asked the butcher to cut the spareribs twice for bite-size pieces. Perfect - definitely a keeper! So easy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Delicious. Used regular baby back ribs - didn't change a thing except for cooking time of 325 for one hour each side. A great change from the bbq ribs. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
These were delicious! I was confused about "bite size" spare ribs...maybe they're available in Hawaii like one reviewer mentioned. I used regular spare ribs and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I only had boneless porkchops, I cut these into 1 inch squares and I substituted 1tsp ground ginger for the fresh Cut baking time down to 20 mins each side. Awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Justofin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States