Ono Spareribs Recipe - Allrecipes.com
Ono Spareribs Recipe
  • READY IN 2 hr

Ono Spareribs

Recipe by  

"I usually make this as an appetizer. Always a hit. It's so easy and quick. Great for potluck, although it's never enough!"

Back
Next
+ Recipe Box + Shopping List + Menu Print

Ingredients Edit and Save

Original recipe makes 4 servings Change Servings
ADVERTISEMENT
  • PREP

    20 mins
  • COOK

    1 hr 40 mins
  • READY IN

    2 hrs

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C). Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and spray lightly with cooking spray.
  2. Bring the rice vinegar, soy sauce, sugar, and ginger slices to a simmer over medium-high heat.
  3. Meanwhile, place rib pieces into a large bowl, and season to taste with garlic salt and pepper. Toss with a little flour to coat, then toss with ginger sauce. Place ribs onto prepared baking sheet in an even layer.
  4. Bake in preheated oven for 45 minutes, then turn ribs over, and bake an additional 45 minutes, until tender. Sprinkle with sesame seeds to serve.
Kitchen-Friendly View
ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews More Reviews

Most Helpful Positive Review
Jan 01, 2007

These ribs should be renamed OhYes spareribs. Made these last night for New Years Eve dinner along with a baked potato & crab salad, just wonderful. The only thing I did different was to loosely cover the ribs with foil the first 45 minutes of cooking. I used the left over drippings to drizzle over ribs. This recipe is a KEEPER! Thank you Luz2bake

 
Most Helpful Critical Review
Jul 07, 2008

My husband made these tonight & he said the sauce smelled great when preparing, but we both agree it didn't follow onto the ribs. It was real blah. I ended up putting some BBQ sauce on my meat to add flavor.

 

20 Ratings

May 25, 2011

Used this recipe for chicken thighs. It is super. Had some left over that I thinned down a bit and used as a sandwich condiment.

 
Jan 05, 2008

Very good. A nice alternative to regular BBQ. Sticky, sweet and tart. The sauce is delicious. I shaved the ginger and used more than called for, because I love ginger - so good! In my oven, next time I will cook at a lower temp for longer. Cook only the amount that will be eaten. While very delicious hot and fresh, these are terrible reheated the next day.

 
Jan 02, 2007

I agree with Luv2Bake. These are definitely a great addition to any New Years Eve Party or appetizer buffet.I served extra sauce on the side. Nothing but rave reviews from my guests.

 
Jun 15, 2007

I just have to add, and laugh, ono in Hawaii means delicious. But yes it is a yes. These are a no brainer yummy treat. If you want to make it for a meal, I buy whatever sparerib I have (I'm not in Hawaii and the small sizes aren't as available) and just cook a little longer if it is a larger piece.

 
Oct 18, 2011

Excellent! I used 1.5 pound of pork spareribs (just the two of us tonight). Instead of garlic salt I used two fresh garlic cloves, chopped and grated the ginger as well. I heated up the sauce then poured it over the ribs to bake at 325 degrees. I covered the baking pan with foil tightly the first 45 minutes, then turned it over to the other side for another 45 minutes. There was a wonderful aroma filling up my house while the ribs were baking. I sprinkled the ribs with toasted sesame seeds before serving. The meat was tender, not tough, and full of flavor. The sauce itself has a nice balance of slight sweetness with subtle “tang” in each bite. The sauce also baked right into the meat making it so savory, juicy, sticky sweet and finger licking ONOlicious! I did not want to waste the sauce so I reserved it to pour over the ribs and rice. I served with, “Green Bean and Mushroom Medley,” also from this site.

 
Jul 26, 2007

Excellent. Asked the butcher to cut the spareribs twice for bite-size pieces. Perfect - definitely a keeper! So easy, too!

 

Rate This Recipe

Glad you liked it! Your friends will, too:
ADVERTISEMENT

Nutrition

  • Calories
  • 777 kcal
  • 39%
  • Carbohydrates
  • 34.6 g
  • 11%
  • Cholesterol
  • 180 mg
  • 60%
  • Fat
  • 49.7 g
  • 76%
  • Fiber
  • 1.4 g
  • 6%
  • Protein
  • 46.7 g
  • 93%
  • Sodium
  • 1124 mg
  • 45%

* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.

See More

About the Cook

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States