Ono Butter Mochi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Looked beautiful and smelled wonderful, but I ended up with a rubbery, chewy texture. I was looking for plain, non- glutinous rice flour as other reviewers suggested, but I only had one choice of rice flour, and I mistakenly assumed that gluten-free is the same as non-glutinous. It is not! Comparing my result to the other reviews suggests that I unwittingly used glutinous rice flour. I can't be sure, because the package does not specify which type it is. The flavor was so nice that I tried to eat it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Ono! I used coconut milk instead of whole milk. LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Prout Cedar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I think I may have overcooked this based on others reviews to cook it longer. It isn't as creamy as I thought it would be but it is good tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
posting review to politely correct another posted Mochiko at least in US *IS* glutenous or sweet rice flour. see the following link: http://www.kodafarms.com/blue-star-mochiko-sweet-rice-flour-serving-suggestions/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lorna Hopeau
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I used SOYMILK vanilla flavored and bourbon Vanilla. Also omitted 1/2 cup sugar & added BLUEBERRIES. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorna Hopeau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Sooo ono!! I rated it 5 stars with the changes I made. I read previous reviews and decided to do the following changes: 1. Substituted 1x 13.5oz can of coconut milk for 13.5oz of whole milk 2. Used only 2 cups of sugar (and it was still pretty sweet because of the added coco flakes) 3. Baked for 50 minutes, added foil around edges to prevent them from burning, and baked an additional 25 minutes to brown the middle (we loved the crusty parts!). Super simple and super easy but so good!! Just wanted to point out too that although this may seem like the Filipino Bibingka, their difference is that Bibingka is made with glutinous rice flour resulting in a stickier kankanun (dessert), while butter mochi is made with plain rice flour (mochiko), yielding a bready, cake-like dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCoconutGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Aunty's favorite! Make a coconut/no milk version: Replace butter with coconut oil, milk with coconut milk, and use turbinado sugar (less sweet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allurose
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
oh my god. this recipe is AMAZING. I first tried hawaiian mochi at my friend's graduation party last summer and since then I've been craving it like nothing else. I finally decided to make some myself and my mom tried it for the first time and pretty much hates me now because of how good it is. I'll definitely be making this again! ? I followed the recipe almost completely, but I did subtract one egg and opted out on the coconut, just as a personal preference. :) Thank you so much for this recipe, you're a livesaver!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allurose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
So tasty. I used coconut milk instead of milk and came out so good, more coconutty. I'll make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ym1022

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I've had better, but this is good, just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa4Dennis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcakes

What's cooking in Milwaukee? These cupcakes, also known as the Peanut Bomb!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States