Ono Butter Mochi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Aunty's favorite! Make a coconut/no milk version: Replace butter with coconut oil, milk with coconut milk, and use turbinado sugar (less sweet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allurose
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
oh my god. this recipe is AMAZING. I first tried hawaiian mochi at my friend's graduation party last summer and since then I've been craving it like nothing else. I finally decided to make some myself and my mom tried it for the first time and pretty much hates me now because of how good it is. I'll definitely be making this again! ? I followed the recipe almost completely, but I did subtract one egg and opted out on the coconut, just as a personal preference. :) Thank you so much for this recipe, you're a livesaver!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allurose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
So tasty. I used coconut milk instead of milk and came out so good, more coconutty. I'll make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ym1022

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I've had better, but this is good, just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa4Dennis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
The best I made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tardis
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
OMG, Melts in the Mouth. Follow the directions like they say and you'll have a truely fantastic desert. I'm lucky I can get Mochiko easy here on Kauai, Hawaii. Made it and it blew me away how good it was. Dont' wait, Make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I love this recipe and I've made it several times. I've replaced regular eggs for egg beaters and the milk with Silk Coconut milk, which cuts back on the fat a little and I'm sure you can also cut back the sugar if you intend to put carmalized brown sugar on top. Last time I made it, I added jack fruit, just cut up and mix, do not include the liquid from the jack fruit. Next time, I will add the pandan flavor which is a popular Filipino flavoring with alot of the desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I have not tried this recipe YET...but have been searching for YEARS for one for Bibingka! FINALLY...someone, in their reviews (Sherwin907) mentioned that it was like that. I cannot wait to try this recipe...even with the changes that Sherwin made. Bibingka is a WONDERFUL dessert, one which I have had many times on the Big Island of Hawaii. But could never get anybody to give me the recipe. Can't lose with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Fantastic Recipe! Have had mochi many times here in Hawaii, and this at least stands up to and often squashes anything I can buy. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This recipe was so ONO!! I only had 1 cup of 1% milk on hand so I used 2 cups of almond milk for the rest. I was worried this may change the results but I tried it when it came it out of the oven and again the next morning and still its so delish! I also only used 2 cups of sugar per other reviews. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcakes

What's cooking in Milwaukee? These cupcakes, also known as the Peanut Bomb!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States