Onions Baked with Rosemary and Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Made this with peeled, sweet white onions for a dinner party we were invited to. OMG - these are awesome. I am a vegetarian so used veggie broth instead of chicken. At the end of an hour my stock hadn't reduced to half, so poured it off into a fry pan and boiled it until reduced. Adjusted the seasoning and poured it back over the onions, added the cream and put back in the oven for another 30 minutes. Made this earlier in the day and then reheated at the party at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. Think you could also microwave it to reheat. Really a gorgeous dish and so flavorful. Thanks for a great recipe that will become a regular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I broke the rules and made this for the first time for Christmas lunch at my mother's house. It was a hit! Even those people, like my husband, who don't really like onions enjoyed this. I personally could have eaten the whole pan. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Just my hubby and me so only used 2 onions..made exactly to receipe aaaah to die for good..especially the gravy it makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Kelley Harris
Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I love the elegant simplicity! I usually use Spanish Tarragon (it's blooming, now, and the yellow flowers are a beautiful and fragrant garnish), reduce the amt. of stock and supplement it with Dry Sherry, Brandy, or "New Orleans Rum". No spices needed but salt, pepper, maybe cayenne. Sliced or coarsely chopped button and/or oyster mushrooms are good when added with the cream, but don't use portabellas unless you want a gross-looking charcoal gray sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I made this twice. The first time I followed the recipe exactly. Both times I needed at least an hour and a half to get the onions tender. The second time I used an additional half cup of cream, and poured it on the onions slowly so it seeped down between the layers. I was also using 12 or 15 small, whole onions. The first try was good enough to try again, but the second try was amazing! My brother did not care for them, because he has texture issues and they were too soft for him. I thought they were incredible and ate them for dessert. I have been on this site plenty of times over the years and have never found a recipe I was passionate enough about to write a review of, but these were so good I had to break my streak. We have a rosemary bush outside and so the ingredients are really easy to procure, which I love. It's so simple and so, so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
These are simply delisious, my husband loves onions anyway they come, but I only like cooked onions and this is had become my favorite way to have them. I like to use smaller onions for less baking time but that is the only thing I have changed about this yummy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I served this for Thanksgiving and everyone in our group of 13 loved it. It looks very pretty and tastes scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
These were very good, next time I will try a sweet onion instead. Overall we really enjoyed these onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
There's just two of us, so I halved the recipe and prepared it exactly as written. It was a yummy side dish and fresh rosemary is a must. I did use half and half instead of heavy cream, and after the addition of the cream, I would reduce the heat a little next time as the juices cooked away too much. Will make it again - so easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrsmaggiehunter
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
i really wanted to love this because it looked so darn pretty! :D and it was pretty good - but nothing outstanding. i baked one onion with the skin on and one with the skin off and i preferred the skin off one - the onion kind of blossomed and soaked up more of the cream mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiehunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States