Onions Baked with Rosemary and Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
WOW , was this Good!! I made it with Walla Walla sweet onions. They are rather large so I peeled and cut them into 1/4's. even my Sons liked it. Subtle sweet onion flavor.They melt in your mouth. Will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This was so easy and wonderful. Did not change a thing and will not when I make this again and I will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
We did not like this. It wasn't awful, it just wasn't for us. The texture was fine, they looked beautiful, smelled awesome, the taste was not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Thank you. My Mum used to make some thing similar when I were little. This really is a taste from the past. Mum used sprigs of fresh thyme instead of rosemary and stirred the cream in at the last min., to just heat through and avoid spltting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
What a wonderful recipe! The onions look like flowers on the plate when they are served, and the taste is divine! I served it as part of Thanksgiving dinner, and it was liked by all who tried it. To accommodate the turkey taking up the entire oven, I prebaked the onions to the point in the recipe where the cream is added, put them in the fridge, brought them to room temperature and finished them off in the hot oven with the cream while the turkey rested and we ate our first course. Thank you for this great recipe that I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This is truly excellent vegetable side dish. I think this may be the only 5 star Ive given to a vegetable. Compliments any dish that contains rosemary, especially baked chicken or lamb. Be wary of the broth though--you probably will need to add more while its baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Instead of cooking the onions in the oven for an hour, I boiled them for 15 minutes. Then I added all of the ingredients at one time. My sauce still thickened up and everything was perfect. It's a great recipe for anyone who loves onions or who is watching their calorie intake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This was FANTASTIC!! The only minor change I made was to flip the onions over when adding the cream so the tops don't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Oh my goodness!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
So yummy, made them for Mother's Day bbq, served with bbq chicken, everyone loved them. I cooked the onions probably 45-1 hour longer than the recipe says, I wanted to make sure they were tender. I did cover them the first 30 mins too, not sure if that increased the cooking time. They are well worth it, very different and a hit at the bbq!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBCATZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States