Onions Baked with Rosemary and Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This was so simple and delicious. I used beef stock instead of chicken and it turned out to be more like a de-constructed french onion soup. The rosemary kind of got lost in the background with the beef stock but it turned out perfect. Will try it with chicken broth next. I agree that the salt should be saved until the end. You might not even need any depending on what kind of stock you use. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Thanks for sharing this recipe rowdy. I'll be doing it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I too took the skins off before cooking, but we'll be using this one again. We've just had a bumper crop of onions from our garden and this is a great idea and a nice change from your regular baked onions. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
These were very good. I actually did remove the skins from the onions -- I just placed them closely together in the pan and they did not lose their shape. When I went to serve them, I realized I forgot to add the cream! So, I warmed the cream in the microwave and drizzled it over top and served immediately. Next time, I'll plan on one-half onion per person, as nobody wanted another one. But, the first serving was gobbled up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Believe it or not I found these lacking some flavor. I was busy while they were cooking and my stock dried up and burnt a bit on the bottom of my dish in the first 1 hour of cook time. I also found them to need salt in the end. I did use low sodium stock. We are onion lovers and prefer them caramalized or grilled. 1 1/2 hour cooking time for this result was not worth it to me. They did smell good though while they cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Awesome! The skins keep the onion from falling apart while cooking, and are easy to remove at the end. My only recommendation would be to wait until the onions are finished to add any desired salt. The chicken broth reduces by quite a bit - mine were VERY flavorful without additional seasoning, and would likely have been too salty for me if I had added it before cooking. Thanks for the recipe - a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
sauce never did thicken up but it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
We love grilled Vidalia onions, so we thought we'd love this recipe. It was good, but not as good as our standby: top 'em with a thick pat of butter, a thick layer of grated parmesan cheese, wrap in foil, and grill til soft and juicy. A summer favorite at our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KikiBean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This was over the top delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This recipe was amazing. I do not like raw onions, but this side dish was a winner. I followed the recipe exactly. I suggest you do the same! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaimie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States