Onions Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I modified this recipe. I will make again. I used 2 onions and placed in a pampered chef pie plate. I sauteed the onions in couple tablespoons of butter for about 5 or so minutes. I didn't measure out exactly but I made 1/4 cup of beef broth, put enough flour into broth to make thick consistency. Added enough heavy cream to thin it out just a tad. (Usually don't have cream on hand but did because of holiday recipe) stirred all this together with onions then put into pie plate, sprinkled sharp cheddar (only thing on hand) then baked 30 mins uncovered. Nice change to onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wascoopy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rantoul, Illinois, USA
Living In: Metropolis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
as good as Mom's creamed onions and easier Good for Thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This is a perfect recipe. I have substituted the very small onions that you can buy at your grocery store instead of using larger onions. M
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
So bad but sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTWhite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Vermont, USA
Living In: White River Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Wonderful side dish! My dinner guest loved them and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
perfect! I used veg broth (what I had on hand) and half and half (again on hand). glad my kids don't do onions- more for ME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Rich and delicious is a great way to describe this recipe. I halved this recipe and we ate it all. Thanks Clammers for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is absolutely one of my most favorite sides. I suggest, if you can find them in your area, using the sweets. And using Campbell's double strength beef broth really amps up the flavor, you'll just have to cut out the excess salt. And a little more cheese never hurt anyone. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Great side dish! I followed the recipe exactly and loved the result! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This was pretty good. The onions were surprisingly sweet. Didn't have cream so used milk instead. I'm sure the cream would have made it richer but I don't know that it needed it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States