Onion Soup Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
We used brown rice rather than the wild rice mix and our chops were larger than "regular" size. It ended up taking 1 1/2 hours to cook and there was way too much liquid at the end. But after draining the extra liquid the taste was very good. We will do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bethel, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is good, but I want to know what Nunpunch thinks before sticking anything in my mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This was a pretty decent recipe. I made it exactly as written, using two boneless pork top loin chops, and measuring out 6 oz. of rice from two 4 oz. packages I bought. I was kind of surprised when I uncovered the dish and most of the water was still there - the chops and cooked rice were pretty much swimming in onion soup. The taste was pretty good though, and I might say that the second half leftovers the next night were even better, as the rice absorbed a lot of the soup. It does take an hour to cook, but for simplicity of preparation, and the fact that you get meat and a side dish out of it, make it worth recommending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Very delicious and hearty recipe! The family loved it and this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xvioletx1882

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Middle River, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I cooked this dish exactly as the directions instructed. The pork chops were so dry, my husband would not even eat them. I think the timing needs to be adjusted on this recipe. The rice was tasty but too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth
Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This was quick and easy to make. But I can see why people said the pork chops were dry. I used thinner pork chops which were done by 30 minutes and the rice was still very watery. I took the pork chops out and let the rice cook for another 15 minutes. This is definitely not a dish for anyone sensitive to salt. I was very thirsty the rest of the night and threw out the left-over rice when I was done with my dinner. Since my pork chop was not dry I enjoyed my dinner but due to the salt I would not make it that way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. I think it would be even better with chicken, but pork is a nice change when you get in a "chicken slump." I did tweak a few things. I used brown rice instead of wild rice because I had it on hand and I don't particularly care for wild rice. I also cooked the pork chops all the way through in the skillet so that I could cut down my oven time to 25/30 minutes. I didn't cover the dish while in the oven either. My rice was Instant Brown Rice so I didn't need to. I added canned mushrooms to the dish as well -- I poured them with their juice over the pork chops before putting the dish in the oven. It came out great. My hubby really loved the leftovers the next day at work, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GarlicLuver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Really blah. Followed directions exactly. Very diluted flavor, if you can call it "flavor". I'm a big fan of Onion Soup mix and all it can do in the kitchen, but this was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebby713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I don't know what happened. I followed the recipe exactly but the pork chop turned out as dry as sawdust. Maybe needed a fattier cut? I may try it again with a bone - in chop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Will not make again. VERY bland, too much water, pork chops not tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States