Onion Soup Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
This recipe is getting four stars because my husband liked it. I seasoned the pork chops with paprika, cayenne pepper, garlic salt and onion powder while they browned. It smelled great. The rice seemed "soupy" when the dish finished baking, so I removed the foil and let it cook for a few more minutes, which helped a great deal. Overall, I wasn't crazy about the flavor of the wild rice, which seemed to overpower the dish. I had wanted an onion flavor. I will make this, again but I won't use the entire package of rice seasoning. Thanks, Leslie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
I was kind of disappointed with this recipe. The chops were kind of dry and the rice was kind of soupy; I followed the recipe exactly too. I am still searching for a moist pork chop recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBACUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
The pork chops were very tender and the rice was delicious! I used Emeril's Essence on the chops before browning in butter. VERY GOOD! Will make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
I used this for a "company's coming" dinner and it was a huge hit ! I made 9 chops and used 2 lg. envelopes of onion soup mix . I chopped up 5 or 6 large potatoes in med. thick slices and put in bottom of pan instead of rice. I served with stuffing,green beans and candied carrots . Yum !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
I thought these were kind of bland. I think that maybe if I added some more spices to the pork chops as I was browning them they would have tasted a little better. The rice came out very moist and tasty. I think I'll try to make these again and just experiment with spices because it was really a very easy meal to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
I used 1 1/2 cups of Uncle Ben's converted rice and 3 cups of water. And for a little color I added a little bit of chopped celery and red pepper. This recipe tastes too good for how easy it was to make! Definitely a keeper :) Thank goodness for onion soup mix!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
Best pork chop recipe I have found from this site yet!! I used Uncle Ben's chicken and wild rice (but discarded the "chicken" seasoning that comes with the rice) used 2 1/4 cups of water and was able to fit 4 small/thin pork chops on top. While browning the pork chops, I added dashes of garlic and onion powder. AWESOME FLAVORS and the meat was soo tender! Unfortunately, there wasn't enough for us all! Will make this again and again! Thanks Leslie in AK!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
The pork turns out so tender! Make sure to use only the onion soup mix packet or the spices that come with the rice. I used both the first time and the flavor was a little much. I season the pork chops while browning and cut down on the water to what the rice box calls for. I have now made this recipe with both the soup packet and the spice packet and my family loves both. This one will become a family classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
We used to make this all the time, except we slice green peppers, onions and tomatoes and put it on top of the rice and then add the pork chops before baking. You can also add mushrooms. This makes a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
I have to agree with the pork chops being bland. However, they were very, very tender. I didn't have wild rice, so I used 2 of the lipton rice packets, and it was very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States