Onion Soup Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
We used to make this all the time, except we slice green peppers, onions and tomatoes and put it on top of the rice and then add the pork chops before baking. You can also add mushrooms. This makes a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
Best pork chop recipe I have found from this site yet!! I used Uncle Ben's chicken and wild rice (but discarded the "chicken" seasoning that comes with the rice) used 2 1/4 cups of water and was able to fit 4 small/thin pork chops on top. While browning the pork chops, I added dashes of garlic and onion powder. AWESOME FLAVORS and the meat was soo tender! Unfortunately, there wasn't enough for us all! Will make this again and again! Thanks Leslie in AK!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2001
Great recipe. The rice could use some salt but overall it was great! Be sure to add all the water. It looks like it will be too much but it isn't...the rice absorbs it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
I used this for a "company's coming" dinner and it was a huge hit ! I made 9 chops and used 2 lg. envelopes of onion soup mix . I chopped up 5 or 6 large potatoes in med. thick slices and put in bottom of pan instead of rice. I served with stuffing,green beans and candied carrots . Yum !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
The pork turns out so tender! Make sure to use only the onion soup mix packet or the spices that come with the rice. I used both the first time and the flavor was a little much. I season the pork chops while browning and cut down on the water to what the rice box calls for. I have now made this recipe with both the soup packet and the spice packet and my family loves both. This one will become a family classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
I used 1 1/2 cups of Uncle Ben's converted rice and 3 cups of water. And for a little color I added a little bit of chopped celery and red pepper. This recipe tastes too good for how easy it was to make! Definitely a keeper :) Thank goodness for onion soup mix!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
Very tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This recipe was very confusing to me. First, I didn't know whether or not to add the seasoning packet that came with my Uncle Ben's wild rice mix. It seemed to me that if I did, the onion soup mix and the seasoning packet would make the rice entirely too salty. So I chose to omit it. Secondly, there seemed to be mixed feelings in the reviews about the amount of water to add. The rice box said to use 2 1/4 cups of water, so that's what I did, and I'm glad. This dish turned out ok, but it wasn't anything special. The pork chops were tender and it was an easy meal to prepare. I would make this again but would use just plain white or brown rice with the Lipton Soup Mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Let me sum up this recipe with just one word: WOW!! I salted & peppered the pork chops, (I used 4 bone in ones) and I used the seasoning pack that came in the box of wild rice. My family devoured this - there was not one bite of leftovers! I'm a very experienced cook & I sometimes shy away from recipes - this is excellent - kudos to you and thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was delicious! My husband and 5 year old gobbled it up. I served it with a vegetable. I have a few tips, though. 1. 2 pork chops is not enough meat for the rice. 4 would be better, but a fattier cut of pork is even better! 2. I used about 2 1/2 cups of water and still had a lot of liquid leftover. I was glad! I scooped out the rice with a slotted spoon. I had saved the skillet I browned the pork in and it's rendered fat. I heated that up and added a couple of tablespoons of flour. Cooked for a couple of minutes. Whisked in the leftover liquid and boiled for a minute. What a lovely gravy! 3. Depending on the variety, wild rice cooking time can vary a lot. So, some people's reviews said their rice wasn't cooked and that is why. I added boiling water to the pan before baking. That will speed up your cooking of the rice. Overall, delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States