Onion Soup Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Excellent! I use powdered beef bouillon, and at least triple the recipe so I have some on hand for a soup base. No MSG, or other unpronouncable items!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Amazing! I'd never even thought of making my own. This is genious! and I can adjust for family tastes - a bit of garlic ... it saves $ and is so much better without the MSG etc. My hat is off to you mamakittyto3 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
i will never buy a box of 'soup' again. this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
thank you! I'd so much rather make my own so I know exactly what's going into it!! this one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I would rate this recipe a 10 if I could. This tastes like the envelope of dry onion soup mix only better. It has a really good flavor that isn't so over powering as the pre-package ones. This recipe only takes minutes to put together because I had ALL the ingredients on hand and for a fraction of the price. I used 4 tsp. of powdered beef bouillion. I omitted the salt due to the sodium content in the beef bouillon. In our house, if you want salt, add it at the table. I will never buy the envelopes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Wonderful!! I've been trying to find a recipe like this for quite some time. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMPFlaten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
What a genius you are! I've been wanting to figure out a way to duplicate onion soup mix since the box variety keeps going up and up in price. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Thanks so much! This is so much more economical and works every bit as well as the packaged varieties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This also works with the organic Better than Bouillion base. Just use a teaspoon or so of the bouillion base in place of the cubes. If you're vegan, use the vegetable base in it's place. You won't be able to tell the difference. You won't go back to buying packaged onion mix again. NOTE: And if you are MSG sensitive, there is NO MSG in the Better than Bouillion bases.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I always am out of this when I'm trying to make a recipe that calls for it. Thanks so much for an alternative. Tastes just the same, if not better than the boxed variety! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States