Onion Soup Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this today! Have no idea why it just occurred to me that I don't have to buy the mix. The Brand name stuff is so expensive. This works as well as store bought. I mixed up a quadruple batch for my pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This was way, way too salty for using as a dip mix. I omitted the xtra salt & used powdered Knorr bouillon, the equivalent of 4 cubes as directed on the pkg. I doubled the sour cream and it was still too salty. It would be great if the bouillon was cut in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I whipped this up to add to beef stew. Delicious, easy and not nearly as salty as the prepackaged kind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I've made this many times and now find it much better than the packets. I especially enjoy being able to reduce the sodium by using low sodium bouillon powder. I use this is the Fairy Godmother Rice (another AR recipe) which I make at least once a week for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This worked out perfectly for a meatloaf recipe I wanted to try. I almost never have the packets in the house but always have these ingredients. I'll definitely use this again in the future, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
used this with hamburger, skipped the salt & added dash of ground cayenne to taste...delicious over biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val Pinkerton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I didn't actually make soup with this, but I used this in a recipe that called for onion soup mix. It tasted so much better than the artificial soup mix. I also used some to make chip dip which turned out great too. I bought organic, MSG-free bullion from whole foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This is so easy and delicious. Tastes just like the soup mix but without all the salt. I used no sodium beef bouillon and left out the salt. It tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This is perfect! I needed onion soup mix for a roast and didn't want to go to the store for one item. I never thought to make my own and I will from now on. I added garlic salt rather than just table salt. I love garlic. Simple and much less expensive. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar Hills, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Perfect!!!And a lot better for my family, not to mention the pocket too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandra Stephen Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States