Onion Soup Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I use this all the time. It is great in place of packaged soup mix in recipes. I know this sounds weird, but I needed this recipe so I could figure out how to make onion soup mix w/o the onions (husband can't stand them). Thanks to this, I have been able to put a few of my favorite recipes back into the rotation with a few minor modifications. No onion flakes, no onion powder, and the correct amount of bouillion. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by famfaithandfood,omy!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
use this all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
In the description it states that it makes the equivalent of one packet of soup mix. The instructions state to simply mix it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamakittyto3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This is great, maybe. It does not state instructions on here so I do not know how much to add to equal one package, or anything. Do not want to have to eyeball this or keep tasting to find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this today! Have no idea why it just occurred to me that I don't have to buy the mix. The Brand name stuff is so expensive. This works as well as store bought. I mixed up a quadruple batch for my pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This was way, way too salty for using as a dip mix. I omitted the xtra salt & used powdered Knorr bouillon, the equivalent of 4 cubes as directed on the pkg. I doubled the sour cream and it was still too salty. It would be great if the bouillon was cut in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I whipped this up to add to beef stew. Delicious, easy and not nearly as salty as the prepackaged kind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I've made this many times and now find it much better than the packets. I especially enjoy being able to reduce the sodium by using low sodium bouillon powder. I use this is the Fairy Godmother Rice (another AR recipe) which I make at least once a week for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This worked out perfectly for a meatloaf recipe I wanted to try. I almost never have the packets in the house but always have these ingredients. I'll definitely use this again in the future, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
used this with hamburger, skipped the salt & added dash of ground cayenne to taste...delicious over biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val Pinkerton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States