Onion Soup Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I'll give this 5 stars just because I love the idea of recipes that duplicate or at least approximate pre-packaged stuff. I've made this a few times now, for use in dishes like meatloaves and such. But just today I decided to make the soup itself, following the directions from a box of the packaged onion soup mix (maybe the last one I'll ever buy). It's not the fancy French onion soup, but it was nice and beefy and oniony. I'll hang on to this recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
My husband loves when I mix this into sour cream as a dip for his potato chips. I make this all the time and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaulaF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Love that I didnt have to run to the store just to buy packaged soup mix. I used this in a pork tenderloin recipe also on this site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kasia777

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
WOW!! This is awesome! Thank you, Sarah Jo, for the tip of using the Better than Bouillon Base. This turned out perfect. We used it in the Beef Tips and Noodles on allrecipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama and Daughters

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
EXCELLENT! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I halved the recipe (only needed equivalent of 1/2 a packet of Lipton Onion Soup mix) and used 1 tsp better than beef bouillon. Perfect substitution, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I just saved a trip to the store for an envelope of pre-packaged mix when I had the ingredients on hand to begin with. I was making a recipe that called for an envelope of mix... and looked here rather than grabbing my car keys. It is just the same. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Love this. I make a big batch minus the bullion. I use Better than Bullion Base. Makes it easy to throw into a recipe that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KikiMonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malad City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I use this all the time. It is great in place of packaged soup mix in recipes. I know this sounds weird, but I needed this recipe so I could figure out how to make onion soup mix w/o the onions (husband can't stand them). Thanks to this, I have been able to put a few of my favorite recipes back into the rotation with a few minor modifications. No onion flakes, no onion powder, and the correct amount of bouillion. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by famfaithandfood,omy!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
use this all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States