Onion Skin Colored Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I am loving this idea. I despise the traditional method of dying eggs so I usually don't bother, but I'm looking forward to trying this. Thanks for the idea. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JR
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
An update to the original recipe...found out that you can use this method on blown out eggs. Use your favorite method to blow out the raw egg from the shell - I just tap a small hole with the sharp end of a knife in each end of a raw egg and then blow with your mouth or and egg blowing tool on one hole while the raw egg pushes through the other hole. If you have trouble, use a toothpick to try and lance the egg yolk while it is in the shell before blowing. Once all the raw egg is out of the shell, rinse off the empty shell and begin to wrap (carefully) dry onion skins around the shell. Secure with aluminum foil or cheese cloth and boil until desired color is achieved. Drain the eggs and let cool before unwrapping. Boiling water will get inside the egg shell, so be careful and unwrap over a bowl or sink. The marble affect will be permanent and you can use the eggs to decorate year after year. You can leave with matte finish or cover with favorite clear coat finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Keep them in the onion skins longer and they will turn out even darker. Also, be sure to make more than you'll need; some eggs will crack or take colour unevenly. Best part: the eggs look great and then you can still eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izfo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
My in-laws call these "wooden Easter eggs". In their family tradition, the Easter Bunny lays wooden eggs around the house. The way I learned the technique, there's no need for cheesecloth. Just put the eggs and onion skins in the water together, making sure that bits of skin are between the eggs for best marbling effect. When the eggs are finished, we rub them with vegetable oil to make them shine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I made these growing up with my grandma and this is just how she made hers. I didn't have any cloth, so I made mine by wrapping the eggs in the skins and then wrapping them in aluminum foil. I wasn't sure they would turn out, but they did! So much easier and less time consuming. The eggs are beautiful and I am happy to find a new spin on an old tradition. I did add a teaspoon of vinegar to the pot; not sure whether that did anything or not. Also, once the eggs are cool and dry, you can make them shine by rubbing a tiny bit of vegetable oil on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Another way to do this is to put one color of onion skin loose in the pot with the eggs, instead of wrapping them. This creates even coloring across the entire egg, if you don't like the mottled appearance created by wrapping the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michellej
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I used red onion skins, and made as written. Make sure you use the dry skin and not moist peel or the color won't project on the egg. Look at the photos that Jr the submitter posted. They are very helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellej
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
In Greece they used to make Easter eggs this way before there was dye! They use only red onion skins to produce a gorgeous, deep hue. Try it!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

How to Make Deviled Eggs

Learn simple tricks to making these classic hors d'oeuvres.

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States