Onion Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
excellent recipe - I cooked it a little longer on medium low and just waited for the onions to do their magic. As long as the onions are really dark - this recipe has endless (fantastic) variations. As an extra step, I ran the blended sauce through a fine mesh wire strainer - the sauce comes out velvety smooth. It took me about 45 minutes to make, but that was my own choice because I didn't want to have to watch the pan closely. As an aside - I used leftover bacon grease instead of butter. I used leftover beef au jus and Oktoberfest Bier instead of chicken broth to pump up the richness (and because that's all I had on hand.) However, I would discourage changing the rye bread - use real, dark, hard, weapons grade rye - I think it's the onion magic and rye bread that makes this recipe. The other ingredients are just extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I made it as directed but left out the rye. It was good. I don't understand that people post that it is soggy, isn't it supposed to be a sauce as in the title "Onion sauce" not onion crunchy..lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ozark, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Excellant onion sauce made exactly as written! I was looking for a sauce to serve over grilled hamburger patties something to compliment the cabbage soup we were having the sauce was light and flavorful, served sourdough crusty chewy bread rolls to mop up the left over sauce! A fast easy dinner:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I didn't have a food processor / blender available, so I left onions as is. I also used white bread and a pinch of flour. Final product was outstanding. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Soggy? What?? Sauce is soggy. Bread is put through the food blender. Of course it is going to be soggy. It is sauce. Reminds me somehow of German Style cooking. I don't know why. But yummy. Bev
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Did not like at all too soggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Very Very good onion sauce. Anyone who enjoys the taste of onions will want to make this. Works well for any dish that could use a little tweaking or to add moisture to a dry meat. As far as adding calories goes, I'm sure one slice of rye to a entire recipe of onion sauce and then use a portion of it to your dish wouldn't add many calories if you think about it.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Fabulous sauce that my DH proclaimed to be outstanding. I chose to use a dark bread and served this over pork chops. For the reviewer who said the bread became soggy obviously did not read thru the instructions correctly as the bread becomes a part of the sauce; hence the reason for running it thru the food processor. Thank you Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Rye bread turns out soggy (sp?) and adds too many calories to the meat. Thanks anyway. Love rye bread, just did not work for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Excellent sauce recipe. I served it on the side to accompany our crown Roast. Guests really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States