Onion Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Since salmon isn't my favorite fish, I usually make this for others. This is a unique recipe. Used wild Alaskan Sockeye. Everyone liked it. This fish is usually oily, so next time I won't use any oil (under the skin) as others suggested. Also, I'd recommend sealing the foil or the fish might dry out and/or not fully cook. But, that really depends on how high the cooking heat is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
adjusted the recipe a little, adding lemon and some seasonings as well, cooked it on the bbq and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I've had this a few times and liked it for its simplicity I tried something completely different and it turned out amazing.I placed the onion rings on top, seasoned with garlic power, salt, freshly ground black pepper and squeezed some fresh lemon on top. Wrapped it up completely, sealing the top and put it in a 400C oven for 20mins. After 20mins I opened up the foil and poured in a bit of red cooking wine. Cooked for another 10 minutes It came out very moist and flavorful. Bonus: Caramelize some onion, mix it with the cooked salmon and add a tablespoon of low-fat mayo. Mix it together, spoon onto bread of your choosing and ENJOY however you please. Ketchup for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kattigan
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I've tried this recipe twice; AS IS WITH NO CHANGES: I found the flavor to be very bland. The salmon required a lot of seasoning at the table. (lemon juice and salt) FOLLOWING SUGGESTIONS: Delicious! I squeezed fresh lemon juice into a bowl and added virgin olive oil. Brushed this mixture on the fillet. (saving extra for later) Placed the fillet on tin foil and formed the pocket around it. Then sprinkled with salt and pepper. Added freshly crushed garlic, sliced onion rounds, and placed lemon slices on top of the onion. Poured the excess mixture of lemon juice and olive oil over the seasoned fillet and placed on a preheated grill at medium-high heat for exactly 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kattigan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This was a very bland dish.There are many delicious and easy recipes for salmon on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
note: this review reflects using a lot of the suggestions, not the basic recipe. i did this in the oven as suggested, and i also added olive oil and lemon juice. it came out pretty well! needed some salt though, and i'm guessing it would need it even when making the recipe exactly as the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynHG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Execellent with a few changes and very easy! Healthy & clean tasting but flavorful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I thought this was fine but nothing spectacular. I think I'd try it again though, maybe using less onion and adding olive oil and lemons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
very simple and very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
I layed down a piece of foil and drizzled some olive oil and lemon juice on it, then put onion slices and minced garlic on the olive oil. I layed the fish on top of that, stuffed some fresh herbs and more garlic inside the fish, then drizzled the top of the fish with some more olive oil and onions. I barbequed it for about 20 minutes, it came out spectacular! I served it with tarter sauce, a fresh salad and garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cedar Planked Salmon

See how to make cedar planked salmon with a simple Asian marinade.

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Fennel-Smoked Salmon

See how to make delicious hot-smoked salmon and cherry tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States