Onion Roasted Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Used olive oil, baked 450 for 25 min. Turned over midway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
The onion overpowered the sweet potatoes to me. I would rather just toss them in olive oil & maybe a little rosemary for a lighter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I loved the idea. It's a great idea to use soup mix of one kind or another for a different flavor. What I do to prevent the onion bits from burning, is pre-steam the sweet potatos but not all the way through. Just enough that the cooking time is cut down, then cut them up and mix them and bake them... Yay... It's awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Simmons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I really loved the taste and texture of these. And I always love a recipe that hardly requires any work at all. I was a bit disappointed that some of my potatoes burned at 30 minutes into cooking. Most of them made it out okay, and they were wonderful. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I now make these for EVERY holiday! I follow the recipe exactly. It never fails, someone always wants the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Melinbery's

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I really liked this! It's nice to have sweet potatoes without brown sugar. The kids really liked them also, my husband not so much but he doesn't really like sweet potatoes to begin with. I also lowered the oven temp to 400 and stired the potatoes a few times, the 1st time I made these the onions from the soup mix burned a little over 20 minutes into the cooking and had to he thrown in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
These were very tasty. I didnt have the onion soup mix so I diced some fresh onion and it worked really well. We will make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
DELISH--added an onion and olive oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Different, and will probably try different mix of spices made on my own in the future (maybe thyme, salt, pepper?). As per other reviews, baked only at 400 degrees to prevent burningof onion pieces, and also used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I stirred up every 10minutes. My husband did not like very much - he didn't think onion went well with sweet potato. Husband also prefers a cripy outside to sweet potato pieces from the oven which I always have difficulty obtaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethissite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Yummy! To avoid the burned onion soup mix taste, I precooked the sweet potatoes with the skin on and pierced for 7 minutes in the microwave. I then followed the rest of the recipe as directed and baked them for only 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States