Onion Roasted Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I didn't have onion mix on hand so I diced up actual onion and tossed that with the sweet potatoes. Turned out great! I did add a tablespoon of maple syrup at the end because I just couldn't resist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmkendall

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Made it for another side last night for family Thanksgiving (Canadian) and they all loved it - nice change from the casserole I usually make. Added 1 quartered onion and a few strips of red bell pepper for colour and extra flavour. Had no trouble with anything burning because I had it in the oven on the top shelf above the turkey, so it was really long and slow, just stirred it all up once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I LOVE LOVE LOVE these. even a non sweet potato fan would like these I think. I did mine in the microwave. I cooked on high for a couple min, let them sit. then repeated that till they were done. amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe, used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. For those having issues with burnt onion flakes cover loosely with aluminum foil halfway through. Cooking times will vary depending on the size of your chunks, test with fork until desired doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terez Sullins Pederson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I did a little tweaking and it came out perfect! I used olive oil instead of veg. oil and I microwaved the diced potatoes first to cut down on cooking time. I baked at 375 for 30 minutes and they are perfect and no burnt onion pieces. I also caramelized an onion while the potatoes were in the oven and when I pulled them out, stirred the caramelized onion into the finished potatoes... soooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Delicious! I used half potatoes and half sweet potatoes. Also used coconut oil instead of vegtable oil and added garlic powder, salt, and pepper. My husband couldn't stop raving about these. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Gould

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caro, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Nice twist on regular baked sweet potato, unfortunately the little onion bits burned before the potatoes were tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
My fiance and I loved this dish. I used only one packet of the onion soup mix because that's all I had on hand. (I don't think I would have liked it as well with the two packets it calls for . . . it would have been too salty and oniony.) The sweet potatoes carmelized and the onions soup mix gave it a savory flavor that complimented the sweet potatoes. Try it, you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Very good recipe if you like sweet potatoes. However, I added bacon bits to mine before baking. You wouldn't expect the onion and salt taste to combine so nicely with the sweetness. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Great Change. Read some of the reviews and did use olive oil, just one package of soup mix, added a small diced fresh onion along with garlic powder and fresh ground pepper, baked at 450 for 20 min and lowered it to 400 for another 20-22 min. Thanks for the recipe and helpful reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Fields

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States