Onion Roasted Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Delicious! I used half potatoes and half sweet potatoes. Also used coconut oil instead of vegtable oil and added garlic powder, salt, and pepper. My husband couldn't stop raving about these. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Gould

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caro, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Nice twist on regular baked sweet potato, unfortunately the little onion bits burned before the potatoes were tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
My fiance and I loved this dish. I used only one packet of the onion soup mix because that's all I had on hand. (I don't think I would have liked it as well with the two packets it calls for . . . it would have been too salty and oniony.) The sweet potatoes carmelized and the onions soup mix gave it a savory flavor that complimented the sweet potatoes. Try it, you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Very good recipe if you like sweet potatoes. However, I added bacon bits to mine before baking. You wouldn't expect the onion and salt taste to combine so nicely with the sweetness. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Great Change. Read some of the reviews and did use olive oil, just one package of soup mix, added a small diced fresh onion along with garlic powder and fresh ground pepper, baked at 450 for 20 min and lowered it to 400 for another 20-22 min. Thanks for the recipe and helpful reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Fields

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
FANTASTIC! Did not peel the sweet potatoes and I baked at a lower temp for a bit longer. Wonderful! I make a sweet glazed ham with pineapple for Christmas and decided the traditional sweet potatoes were just too much sweet in one meal and replaced them with these. Was not disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Good lord. When I serve this, you would think that it's the last meal everyone is going to eat! It disappears super quickly. Even the picky teens love it. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Awesome! Used olive oil instead of veggie oil, and soaked the onion dip in it for about an hour ahead of time. Baked at 400 degrees for 35 mins. Perfectly tener, nothing burned, was delicious! Game day favorite now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCoorishii

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I had a couple of sweet potatoes in my pantry that I needed to use. I was looking for a "not so sweet" way to cook them. This was really good - we just kept picking at the pan like it was popcorn! I cut back on the onion soup mix somewhat as we are trying to cut back on the salt. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Really delicious, easy side dish. I do this with regular potatoes to rave reviews also. I baked the potatoes at 400 degrees for about 40 minutes and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States