Onion Roasted Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2004
This came out wonderfully! I added an onion and used olive oil instead of vegetable oil... and cooked until well done.. I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
These are really, really good! I liked that they were different from the usual cinnamon flavor you find in most sweet potato recipes. I used EVOO instead of veg oil and lowered the oven temp to 400. No problems with burned onions...just perfectly cooked yummy potatoes. Thanks Jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
Mix sweet potatoes and white potatoes for another wonderful side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
I scaled the recipe down for 1 sweet potato...I used about a third of the packet of soup mix. I lined my pan with foil, and tossed the potato chunks, the oil and the soup mix in the pan to save on clean-up. I stirred about every ten minutes. I didn't have any problem with sticking, but like some other reviewers mentioned, many of the onion falkes burned pretty badly. The result still tasted OK, I picked out the most charred pieces...but I definately wouldn't serve this to anyone I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
These didn't need the full cooking time and i took them out after about 25 minutes so they didn't burn. They were lovely, a great side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Excellent recipe that's a welcome change from all the typical sugary sweet potato recipes! I cut the recipe in half and used olive oil vs. veg. oil. I also left the skin on the potatoes. This was so easy, yet so tasty! I cut back on the cooking time - more like 30 minutes and tossed this a couple of times during cooking. I would definitly make this again and perhaps do a combination of russet and sweet potaotes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I've done this same recipe using red potatoes, the soup mix gives it an awesome flavor. Good recipe. I may try the boxed vegetable soup mix and oil on cut up russet potatoes now too. Endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
I liked the flavor overall, but watch the little onions; they will burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
So simple and so good! I used hot and sour soup mix instead of onion for an extra kick and it turned out great! I will definitely be using this recipe again for a quick-to-prepare sidedish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
I really enjoyed this simple recipe. I made it as-is with no modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States