Onion Roasted Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I really liked this! It's nice to have sweet potatoes without brown sugar. The kids really liked them also, my husband not so much but he doesn't really like sweet potatoes to begin with. I also lowered the oven temp to 400 and stired the potatoes a few times, the 1st time I made these the onions from the soup mix burned a little over 20 minutes into the cooking and had to he thrown in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
These were very tasty. I didnt have the onion soup mix so I diced some fresh onion and it worked really well. We will make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
DELISH--added an onion and olive oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Different, and will probably try different mix of spices made on my own in the future (maybe thyme, salt, pepper?). As per other reviews, baked only at 400 degrees to prevent burningof onion pieces, and also used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I stirred up every 10minutes. My husband did not like very much - he didn't think onion went well with sweet potato. Husband also prefers a cripy outside to sweet potato pieces from the oven which I always have difficulty obtaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethissite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Yummy! To avoid the burned onion soup mix taste, I precooked the sweet potatoes with the skin on and pierced for 7 minutes in the microwave. I then followed the rest of the recipe as directed and baked them for only 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
My husband is not fond of sweet potatoes, I love the traditional version. We both absolutely loved these. Our children loved them too and they are terribly picky. My little brother was over for dinner and nobody can get that man to eat his veggies...He loved them...Notice a pattern here. I changed the temp to 400 and baked for 40 min as was mentioned buy another reviewer. They were perfect, soft and flavorful... I am adding this to my monthly recipe book...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
MMM so yummy! I love the sweet and savory mix. I was looking for a recipe like this without sugar that I could use more as a side, not a dessert. Thanks for this, was too easy. BTW I only cooked for about 25 mins and they were perfect. No burnt onion pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
thanks god for sweet potato recipes that aren't sweetened! i loved this dish, and though there was no added sugar, it still came out sweet. yum. i cooked mine in a toaster oven and if you do this i would suggest stirring once or twice just to keep the tops from burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnyk

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
yummy! simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdipirro

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Wow, these were really good. I did use olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and only baked for 35 minutes at 400...it really just depends on how large your pieces are... Hubby can't wait to have these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States