Onion Roasted Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Very good!! Only 4 of 5 bc I think they definitly still need seasoned salt. But a sure keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaddleClub09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This was delicious. I made a 1/2 recipe and cooked it at 425 for about 15 minutes before it started burning. The potatoes were plenty soft. Perhaps I diced them too small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Actually good, and I don't even really care for sweet potatoes. Instead of the onion soup mix I used two small yellow onions diced finely for three medium to large sweet potatoes, also diced. I spread them out onto a greased cookie pan, sprinkled them with a pinch of kosher salt and cracked black pepper, added a couple splashes of good balsamic vinegar and extra virgin olive oil, stirred everything together and let it roast for about 30 minutes. I was aiming for and achieved caramelized onions, which imparted a really nice flavor to the dish. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Delicious! Although I highly recommend cooking for 30 minutes and checking them from there. I did 40 minutes at 450 degrees and they burned. Make sure you don't make the diced pieces too small!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Turned out delicious.. I added onions and bell peppers. Perfect healthy side dish. My whole household of 5 loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hottcakes22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
A nice twist on the traditional cinnamon flavored sweet potatoes. I used EVOO instead of vegetable oil and kept the oven at 375. Keep an eye on it and make adjustments on time and temp as needed (40-50 minutes is way too long). Don't forget to flip your potatoes half way through and you'll have a delicious side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Wow, are these potatoes good!! I didn't have time to bake these in the oven, so I cooked my potatoes in the micro and then cut them into cubes. I sprinkled some onion soup mix atop the lightly oiled cubes and put the potatoes in a lightly oiled pan on the stove to carmelize and brown. My husband and I couldn't believe just how good this turned out. The mix almost seemed to enhance the sweetness of the sweet potato, and the added saltiness was a welcome surprise. We will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Excellent alternative to candied sweet potatoes. I added string beans, as one reviewer suggested, and it really provided an incredible blend! I thought I had onions onhand, but I was WRONG! I added the crispy fried onion toppers and it provided an incredilble crunch! I only used 1 package of onion mix to make it healthier (theres ALOT of sodium in those mixes- one was just fine). Baked at 450 covered for 15 minutes, then lowered to 350 uncovered bc I was cooking a turkey meatloaf. After a total of 35 minutes, they were done. Thanks for this great easy recipe! Will be using in the future !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Delicious and my husband loved them too! I followed the recipe exactly. The trick to getting them done properly without burning the onion bits is to make sure that you have diced the potatoes small enough so that they can cook quickly...I diced mine just a shade bigger than frozen hash browns. Also, olive oil has a lower smoking point than vegetable oil, so if you use olive oil your dish will burn faster than if you use canola or another vegetable oil. I also stirred them twice during the cooking process. My husband said it was all he could do to save some for me, since I made them ahead and he got home first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilchevyshortbox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States