Onion Roasted Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I made these for thanksgiving. Very easy and almost no prep time. I just peeled, diced and threw the pieces in a gallon baggie with the onion soup mix and the olive oil. I let it sit for a few hours and marinate and then used a foil lined 9x13 casserole dish. I changed the temp to 350 degrees and baked for about 50-60 min (until tender - I used a toothpick to test if it was inserted with low resistance). Everyone loved these! I will definitely make these again. We got a box of sweet potatoes/yams from Costco along with the Lipton onion soup mix and they worked great with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Great recipe! We love it! I have made them 3 times in the last two weeks...only change is I cook them in microwave for 3 minutes and then marinate them in the onion soup/evoo for a few hours before baking! Thank you Jessica! Sweet potatoes are very good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mission, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I really only made these so I'd have two potatoes for Thanksgiving dinner - I'm kinda tired of the overly sweet br. sugar/pecan recipe----they kind of take away from the pies! Well - now I have a new sweet potatoe to make year round!! These are just fantastic! I cut mine in round slices about 1/2" or so thick - dunked them in a small bowl of olive oil and made sure they were totally covered - then dunked them in a small bowl of onion soup mix - put them in a casserole dish and baked. I didn't use a cookie sheet because I didn't have the room in my oven with all the other food. My family loved them - didn't miss their old favorite sweet potatoes at all. They plan to try them - and cut them thinner and place on a cookie sheet - more french fry type. LOVE THOSE SIMPLE & HEALTHY RECIPES!! Bless you Jessica
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Delicious! I baked at 350 for under an hour. The onion bits turned out just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
My family loved these. I was looking for a sweet potato side dish that was savory rather than the typical marshmallow topped. Based on other revewiers suggestions I lowered the temp to 350 and cooked them for about 30 minutes. A definite "do again" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
These were great! Next time, I think that I will run the onion soup mix through the chopper to cut down some of the larger onion pieces but it was great just as written. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
The recipe has to be wrong!! I prepared exactly as recipe directed and had very badly burnt onions at the end of 35 minutes. It would have been worse if I hadn't opened the oven and checked after 30 minutes. 450deg is much too high. If I ever try this again I will lower temperature to at least 400 deg and reduce cooking time a little. I will try 375Deg for 40 min. the next time as a start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
The temperature in this recipe needs to be lowered and or the time shortened. I followed the recipe exactly and after 50 minutes half of the potatoes were burnt. They were still good, but we had to pick them up with our fingers and eat around the burnt parts. Watch carefully while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I absolutely love this recipe. I made it for dinner one night for a good friend and mysef. I followed the recipe exactly and we ended up eating the whole pan of them! so delicious. The only thing I did differently was i baked them in a lage baking pan, and cooked at 375 instead of 450 ( i was making game hens at the same time). turned out amazing. will be making alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Fantastic!!! It is so great to find a reciepe that does not call for sugar and best of all, now my husband will eat sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States