Onion Roasted Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I used one package of onion soup mix, olive oil and 2 lbs sweet potatoes. It was excellent and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Good if you're craving something savory but I prefer a sweet sweet potato dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Excellent dish. Took the advice of one rater. Put all ingredients in a gallon plastic bag, sealed it and let it sit until ready for use.. The onions become soft and did not burn. Also, I cooked at 350 degrees and it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
really good made twice and will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I hate sweet potatoes but this is amazing! Will definitely eat this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Sounds good. To prevent burning, I'd turn the heat down to 425 and cover it for 1st 30 min or so. Saw that on another recipe here and it worked good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I made these for Thanksgiving for my fiancee. He hates onions, but he LOVED this recipe. He kept saying that this recipe is a keeper and how good they were. I followed the recipe exactly, but I cooked the potatos at a lower temp because they needed to share the oven with the green bean casserole and turkey. However, I did brush them with a small bit of olive oil and turned the oven temp up to 425 at the end in order to brown them up. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I made these for thanksgiving. Very easy and almost no prep time. I just peeled, diced and threw the pieces in a gallon baggie with the onion soup mix and the olive oil. I let it sit for a few hours and marinate and then used a foil lined 9x13 casserole dish. I changed the temp to 350 degrees and baked for about 50-60 min (until tender - I used a toothpick to test if it was inserted with low resistance). Everyone loved these! I will definitely make these again. We got a box of sweet potatoes/yams from Costco along with the Lipton onion soup mix and they worked great with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Great recipe! We love it! I have made them 3 times in the last two weeks...only change is I cook them in microwave for 3 minutes and then marinate them in the onion soup/evoo for a few hours before baking! Thank you Jessica! Sweet potatoes are very good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mission, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I really only made these so I'd have two potatoes for Thanksgiving dinner - I'm kinda tired of the overly sweet br. sugar/pecan recipe----they kind of take away from the pies! Well - now I have a new sweet potatoe to make year round!! These are just fantastic! I cut mine in round slices about 1/2" or so thick - dunked them in a small bowl of olive oil and made sure they were totally covered - then dunked them in a small bowl of onion soup mix - put them in a casserole dish and baked. I didn't use a cookie sheet because I didn't have the room in my oven with all the other food. My family loved them - didn't miss their old favorite sweet potatoes at all. They plan to try them - and cut them thinner and place on a cookie sheet - more french fry type. LOVE THOSE SIMPLE & HEALTHY RECIPES!! Bless you Jessica
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States