Onion Roasted Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as written with no changes or substitutions. This is by far one of the best 10 recipes I have obtained from AllRecipes.com since this website went up on the Internet! This dish is TRULY a dream for a cook! Minimal work, inexpensive to make, and absolutely delicious. My niece told me she didn't like sweet potatoes and even she loved them. I recommend changing the terminology of the recipe to "cubed" sweet potatoes. There is a difference between diced and cubed. Thankfully, I didn't dice the sweet potatoes; they would have been way-over-cooked. I cubed them (which, with the hardness of sweet potatotes, - that is certainly the most difficult part of the recipe). GREAT RECIPE! You can't screw this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randle, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
These were good but I thought they did need a little more flavor then just the packet alone. I also didn't use 1/3 cup oil or near it, 2 Tbsp. was all I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I used one package of onion soup mix, olive oil and 2 lbs sweet potatoes. It was excellent and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Good if you're craving something savory but I prefer a sweet sweet potato dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Excellent dish. Took the advice of one rater. Put all ingredients in a gallon plastic bag, sealed it and let it sit until ready for use.. The onions become soft and did not burn. Also, I cooked at 350 degrees and it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
really good made twice and will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I hate sweet potatoes but this is amazing! Will definitely eat this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Foley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Sounds good. To prevent burning, I'd turn the heat down to 425 and cover it for 1st 30 min or so. Saw that on another recipe here and it worked good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I made these for Thanksgiving for my fiancee. He hates onions, but he LOVED this recipe. He kept saying that this recipe is a keeper and how good they were. I followed the recipe exactly, but I cooked the potatos at a lower temp because they needed to share the oven with the green bean casserole and turkey. However, I did brush them with a small bit of olive oil and turned the oven temp up to 425 at the end in order to brown them up. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I made these for thanksgiving. Very easy and almost no prep time. I just peeled, diced and threw the pieces in a gallon baggie with the onion soup mix and the olive oil. I let it sit for a few hours and marinate and then used a foil lined 9x13 casserole dish. I changed the temp to 350 degrees and baked for about 50-60 min (until tender - I used a toothpick to test if it was inserted with low resistance). Everyone loved these! I will definitely make these again. We got a box of sweet potatoes/yams from Costco along with the Lipton onion soup mix and they worked great with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States