Onion Roasted Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Easy and pleasing. I made these for a small dinner party I had with Salmon as a main course. I added a sweet onion and used olive oil instead of vege. Turned out wonderful and I received many compliments on this exquisite yet easy to make side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: South Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
These were a hit with my family!! Will definitely make again. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I only used half as much soup mix as called for, after reading the reviews... This recipe is a good start but it needs some tweaking. The first time I cooked it at 425 in a shallow pan and they still got a little burned. When I made this again and I combined the soup mix and oil a few hours ahead of time so the onions would soften. I baked it in a smaller pan covered with foil for 45 minutes at 350 (I was also making a pork roast). Then took off the foil for another 30 minutes til the roast was done... they came out much better, nicely caramelized and the onion flavor wasn't overpowering :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
These came out much too salty for our tastes! I would cut back quite a bit next time. They also cooked in 20-30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Nice looking and tasty. I personally prefer my sweet potatoes served sweet so I only gave it 4 stars. But, my husband, whom normally doesn't eat sweet potatoes, liked them prepared this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was good flavour used only one pack of onion soup with a bag of frozen pre-cut sweet potato fries 2lbs which made this very easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I think this recipe was fantastic! I will cut down on the oil next time. Perfect balance of sweet and salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Very easy and good. AND the potato loving bf actually liked eating sweet potatoes. That means success. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as written with no changes or substitutions. This is by far one of the best 10 recipes I have obtained from AllRecipes.com since this website went up on the Internet! This dish is TRULY a dream for a cook! Minimal work, inexpensive to make, and absolutely delicious. My niece told me she didn't like sweet potatoes and even she loved them. I recommend changing the terminology of the recipe to "cubed" sweet potatoes. There is a difference between diced and cubed. Thankfully, I didn't dice the sweet potatoes; they would have been way-over-cooked. I cubed them (which, with the hardness of sweet potatotes, - that is certainly the most difficult part of the recipe). GREAT RECIPE! You can't screw this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randle, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
These were good but I thought they did need a little more flavor then just the packet alone. I also didn't use 1/3 cup oil or near it, 2 Tbsp. was all I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States