Onion Roasted Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
So simple...so yummy! My huband who is not a sweet potatoe eater couldnt get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
We always want to have sweet potato at our thanksgiving table and were stock with the same old "casserole" wich is always too sweet and muchy for our taste. this thanks giving I used this recipe and it was the biggest hit at the table after the turkey. everyone loved it. it makes a very tasty and much healthier side , that in my opinion could even replace french fries .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Made for Thanksgiving meal and it was a pleasant change from the sweet versions we've all grown up with! It went well with the other flavors of our Thanksgiving plates. Thank you for posting this! Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I was so thrilled with this recipe! It was such a celebration of fall flavor on my Thanksgiving table! The roasted sweetness of the potatoes combined with the crunchy, savory bits of onion were delicious and really heightened the sweet flavor of the potatoes rather than hide it with sugary marshmallows. This was a hit! I also roasted some brussels sprouts and just did both at 400 degrees for 30 minutes. I used 4 medium to large sweet potatoes and 1 packet of onion soup (don't remember the size). They were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Kennedy Family
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Great recipe! I stuck with the directions and it was great but will try some fun additions next time. Maybe some thin sliced onions to add or some garlic/rosemary for fun.... and of course drizzle with butter at the end! I made two large s.potatoes and it fed about 4 nice servings! THEY DO SHRINK THOUGH... so it will make less than it looks like when it's raw so keep that in mind when you decide how many potatoes to cut up. Great change though from the traditional sweet with brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kennedy Family

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I have spent my whole life saying I hate sweet potatoes, this recipe made me a convert! SO good! The cook time does seem to be off though, mine just started to burn at around 20 minutes. Will definitely make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
A very good alternative to the sweet recipes for sweet potatoes. Thought the dry onion soup mix was a bit strong so may use a little less next time & substitute a little onion powder or other seasoning. Also added black pepper. Way I prepared to hasten timing: Precooked the potatoes in the Microwave on Hight for 5 minutes. Then mixed & cooked in oven only 20 minutes. This way should solve the complaints of some that the onions were too crisp or burned. Husband liked better than the sweet recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This sounds awesome. I will be making this for Thanksgiving this year. I will use the suggestion to cut the temp down to 400. I also think for those of you that have issues with burning the onions, maybe try cutting the potatoes smaller so they will cook faster and you wont need to cook them for the full amount of time. I love sweet potatoes, but I've never liked the traditional recipes that always add sugar. I never saw the point in adding sugar to something that is already sweet. Guess I just don't have a giant sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Great! Used 1/2 of onion soup mix, EVOO and sweet onions. Reduced temp to 400, and they were ready in 20 min!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
These do not disappoint! I didn't add the whole soup mix seasoning, instead only added half and the result was great. Aso I didn't use as much oil as the recipe stated, only a couple of tablespoons to 3 potatoes. The potatoes have great flavor. This recipe is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraV1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greybull, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States