Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Fantastic way to make easy onion rings! I just add spices to the pancake mix (salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic) to taste and perfect! I've used this idea to bread fish as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIGGSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
These were a hit! I added some seasoned salt, garlic and onion powder. My family devoured them. They were simple and too easy to make. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Tasty. I added some seasoning to the pancake mix. Just some cayenne, salt and a few dashes of hot sauce. Came out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
We eat gluten free, so I made our favorite pancake mix King Arthur Flour Brand Gluten Free Pancake Mix (best ever found in 7 years of being gluten free) and the onion rings were awesome. A little sweet but everyone in the family enjoyed them. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I just finished making these onion rings. They were absolutely delicious. In the batter I did use beer and not water and cooked in 350 degree oil. Sprinkled kosher salt on them. Best I have ever tasted. Beth F
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I love how the sweetness of the Vidalia onion paired with the sweet pancake batter. The only problem I had with this was not necessarily with the recipe- more of a word of advice for fellow first-time-fryers: Definitely fry these in a pan! I used our countertop deep fryer and the onions cooked right into the fryer basket because of the batter. By the time I got it all scraped off the basket, the onions were in a million little pieces... keep this in mind! I'll definitely try these again with a pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ansiosa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Delicious batter, can also be used for fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by girltimemachine
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
The onion rings I made certainly did not look very appealing, but they tasted so delicious! Thanks for sharing this recipe, I did not know how easy it was to make them at home. Plus they didn't come frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
A little too grease in my opinion. Needed more seasoning also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Coker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I made the pancake mix as directed but ended up with soggy onion rings even though they were almost burnt looking from frying. BLAH! I added seasoning salt, salt & pepper and they tasted really good (minus the half burnt flavor). Not sure what I did wrong... I'll probably try another recipe next time:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States