Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
Fun recipe. I had just bought a huge bag of "just add water" pancake mix from my warehouse store and wanted to find some other way to use it up. I heated up my electric fryer to 350 degrees F. I added a few teaspoons of spicy powdered seasoning until the mix was slightly pink (I used Old Bay, but I have tried Cajun, Curry, and Seasoned salt and pepper too. I dredge chunks of food in the dry mix and set aside. I then mix a little beer into the dry mix to make a thin batter, re-dip the food in it, and then drop them gently one at a time into the hot oil. I fry until the food floats and turns deep golden brown. The oil stays clear because the batter sticks to the food, holds up really well to heat and complements a variety of flavors. Try it with chunks of chicken, seafood, eggplant, carrots, onion rings, squash, bell peppers, cheese stuffed jalapenos, peapods, green beans, hot dogs, broccoli, cauliflower, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
I felt that this recipe required some seasoning so I added my usual garlic and onion powders, a special blend of bread dipping spices, hot sauce and I replaced the liquid with beer. Even though I dressed this up a bit, I'm still giving this recipe five stars because using pancake mix is ingenious. I used Bisquick. I also floured my onions first to help the batter adhere. For those who mentioned that their onions were greasy probably did not have the oil at the right temp. It should be about 350 degrees. A simple candy thermometer will help with that. My family loves onion rings but rarely orders them in a restaurant because they hate how the onion always slides out from the coating. Amazingly, this did not happen (maybe due to the flour coating) and my gang said that these were the best rings they had ever eaten. Can't thank you enough "T"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
This batter was really good. I coated the rings in the dry pancake batter to start with and then put them aside. Then I used 1 cup of beer in place of the liquid and added lots of seasoned salt. Then when they came out I sprinkled with salt. The only problem was that I set the stove at med/high heat and it was way too hot. The rings became too browned after cooking only 10 seconds. Even after I turned the dial down to 4, they were coming out the same way. I had to stop frying them because my whole kitchen was filled with the smoke that was coming out from inside the pot and the smell of onion rings has still not gone away after 15 hours (and I've kept my windows open all night) I would not make these again unless I used a deep fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
Are there even words to express how GOOD these are? we are a family of 9 and we all loved these. I have never made onion rings before.I had a bunch of brown onions and needed to use them up.I used buttermilk pancake mix that said to mix with water, not milk.I added some salt,pepper and seasoning salt.Love at first bite.Somebody pinch me...have I ever tasted anything so good?My 12 yr old screamed when she ate these! I added too much salt to the second batch...had to throw them away...better go easy on the salt, you can always salt them when they are done. These are the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Not bad but not great. The batter coated and stayed on the onions well. This is my first time deep frying but the recipe worked well. It lacked any real flavor it tasted just like the recipe says. I liked the slightly sweet flavor but everytime I had a bite I couldn't help but think it was lacking spices. I probably won't try this *exact* recipe again but may try and "imprve" it by replacing the water with beer and adding salt, pepper and maybe some additional spices. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
WOW!! I used Krusteez pancake batter and it was perfect! It didn't even need salt. I used the batter for french fries and that was awesome too, but with potatoes it did need some seasoning. I will never have to order onion rings again! Super Super Super! (Do make sure your oil is hot enough--mine got cool at one point and the rings were greasy and spongey and yuck--as soon as the oil returned to the right temp they were perfect again!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
I was so excited to see that pancake mix was used in this. I'd never thought of it and I have struggled for years to get my batter just right and now I can say NO MORE STRUGGLING. I used this recipe and added a little season-all for a spicy kick. WOO HOO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
My kind of recipe! I used Krusteaz Buttermilk Pancake Mix that only needs water added. Even my husband liked these and he is not usually a fan of onion rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
These were so easy, and yet so good! I used buttermilk pancake mix, and I didn't have enough milk that the box called for, so I used evaporated milk for the rest. I also added some salt and pepper to the batter. Most of my children don't eat onions or onion rings, but they all went for these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
This was great! I used it for chicken fingers too and it turned out great, sweet & crunchy, the whole family begged for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Austin, Michigan, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States