Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
This was great! I used it for chicken fingers too and it turned out great, sweet & crunchy, the whole family begged for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Austin, Michigan, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2001
This recipe was SO EASY!! My kids loved these onion rings too. I used Walla Walla Sweets and they worked very well. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
I just saw this recipe and made a small batch to try it out. I was surprised at how well pancake batter handles a deep fryer. The wife and kids can get enough!! Needless to say I had to make a couple more batches after they sampled the first.. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
Very quick and easy!!! My husband and I loved them! I added a little bit of salt and pepper, and they tasted wonderful. I think we would take these over any other kind of onion rings that we have tried. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
Fun recipe. I had just bought a huge bag of "just add water" pancake mix from my warehouse store and wanted to find some other way to use it up. I heated up my electric fryer to 350 degrees F. I added a few teaspoons of spicy powdered seasoning until the mix was slightly pink (I used Old Bay, but I have tried Cajun, Curry, and Seasoned salt and pepper too. I dredge chunks of food in the dry mix and set aside. I then mix a little beer into the dry mix to make a thin batter, re-dip the food in it, and then drop them gently one at a time into the hot oil. I fry until the food floats and turns deep golden brown. The oil stays clear because the batter sticks to the food, holds up really well to heat and complements a variety of flavors. Try it with chunks of chicken, seafood, eggplant, carrots, onion rings, squash, bell peppers, cheese stuffed jalapenos, peapods, green beans, hot dogs, broccoli, cauliflower, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
My kind of recipe! I used Krusteaz Buttermilk Pancake Mix that only needs water added. Even my husband liked these and he is not usually a fan of onion rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
I can't believe how incredibly easy it was! Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
These are good onion rings! We added all-season salt to the batter and took the advice of others that dipped their onions in the batter, then beer, then batter again before tossing them in the deepfry. Be sure to coat them well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
It may be a bit fatty. but this recipe is as delicious as any restraunts onion rings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Pretty darn good. But make sure to add a fair amount of salt and pepper to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States