Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
a little greasy -- but delicious!!!! I'd make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Mead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
They were good, but by the time I finnished cooking all of the rings, the ones I had done first became mushy. I had coated the onions in flour first otherwise the batter all came off once in the oil. Maybe If I put the completed onion rings in the oven on warm they would stay crispy, but I don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This recipe is so good! I'll never eat fast food or frozen onion rings again. I added a little onion powder, pepper and Lawry's salt to the dry mix and subbed beer for the water. I don't have a deep fryer so I just heated some oil in a pan and fried...sooooo delicious and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Amazing! I spiced up the batter a little with some garlic powder & cayenne pepper! These were incredible. Best onion rings ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I was skeptical about this recipe. It just seemed too simple. I made these for my family last night and they devoured them. My sister even said they were the best onion rings she's ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
these are awesome just the way they are. they don't even need salt. I never would have thought to use pancake batter..Im going to try this on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Thought his was a good and easy recipe for onion rings. I like the sweet flavor that comes from the pancake batter. I did add some seasoned salt when they were drained on paper towels and that also kicked them up a knotch. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I thought that this recipe was great and really simple, but like the others I added a little cayene, salt and pepper, and had to dust my rings in a little bit of flour before diipping them in the batter so it would not fall off in the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Not what I expected.....Some helpful advice..If you follow the instructions on the pancake box you would find that it too thick so may have to add more water...I sure did.And this recipe definitely calls for seasoning...I had to try at least three batches until I found out what worked...Even then still didnt like it but husband and daughter stated that they were pretty decent...I also tried cutting them thick but found it to be too much onion at one time when eatting them...I think I will try to make onion rings again but a beer batter kind....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tvrqmr

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States