Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I'm an onion ring fiend! This recipe is super easy, and when you've got your eye on the rest of the meal, these are a blessing!! I added seasoned salt, garlic powder, pepper and cajun seasoning. The spices cut the "sweet" a little for those turned off by it. I also dredged the rings in cornmeal after the batter for some crunch. Even my onion-hating five-year old loved these. I've always got pancake mix and onions "lying around" and these are gonna be a staple. I'm gonna try baking some on a silpat next time to see how they turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Horseheads, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Texture is nice and crispy, but these are very bland, I think I'll try these again but add something to the batter to give them some much needed flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
These onion rings were gone faster than I could fry them up ... honestly, the first whole batch went in my belly while I was still cooking. I used pancake batter mix but substituted beer for water and added some spices - just what I came across: lemon pepper, garlic powder, paprika, ... - I don't think that there are any limits :-) Great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Awesome rings. I cut them thin like one review said but I didn't like that they got so crispy. Next time I will cut them thicker cause I like them soft on the inside and crisp on the outside. I will probably try some other veggies as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Great recipe. I cooked them in a deep fryer. In order to prevent them from sticking together, I only fried about 3 or 4 at a time. Also, if you set them into the deep fryer basket and then lower it into the oil, the rings will stick to the basket and make a bit of a mess. I dropped them into the oil with the basket down, and once they were fried used the basket to pull them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieDB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bornholm, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I dipped rings in dry batter and then wet batter, batter stayed on rings very nicely. i had the batter too thick, need to water down a little more, too much batter for the rings. need to cut the rings in nice thick slices. be sure to spice up the batter with tabasco/garlic/celery/paprika
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Very Simple, didn't make a mess at all. I didn't use the spanish onion just a regular one and my family loved it, even my daughter who doesn't even like onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
So good and so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
These are pretty professional looking onion rings. They taste great. They are crispy and do stay crunchy (as another reviewer said) when left in an oven at 225 degrees. I'll definitely make this again when the mood strikes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
For ease, 5 stars, for presentation, 3, so I'm giving it 4. I had a hard time getting the batter to stick to the onions. We deep fried them in our fryer. They did taste very good and we would definitely make them again! As a side note, we used reduced-fat Bisquick and followed the pancake recipe on their.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States