Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Great recipe, very easy. I added water to a mix that was supposed to have milk and eggs (but I didn't have those). It worked well anyway! I did add seasoning. About 3/4 tsp of salt and a dash of season salt. It cooked quickly, and didn't stick to the bottom of the pot. It was crispy and slightly sweet. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
These were great! Perfect texture, crisp and light, and the onion stayed with the coating. The pancake batter works perfectly. I dredged onions lightly in flour first as another reviewer suggested. Added some spices for the heck of it (just a touch of: paprika, pepper, garlic powder, dry mustard, and cayenne), but would be fine without too. I'd never deep fried before; I used a cast iron skillet, about an inch of oil, and played it by ear with the temp, adjusting as needed. Fun and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I was skeptical that such a simple recipe could be good. Even though I read all the reviews, I still made up my usual onion ring batter (it takes 3 hours of sitting time). I made the first batch with that batter and then used this pancake mix recipe for the second one. I did a taste test on my 6 hungry guests and the pancake mix onion rings were the clear winner. And it could not have been easier. I added Laury's seasoning salt to the batter and used Walla Walla Sweet Onion Rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I'm not too great in the kitchen, but my 93 yr old grandma loves onion rings. Thought I'd give it a whirl and take her some on our next visit. This was so simple. I added some salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Along with the onions we tried zuchinni. Just wonderful. My 10 year old HATES onions but she gobbled these up!! Great recipe! (PS I think I'm going to have to make another batch, these never made it to grams)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I will never use another batter! We gathered over the 4th of July weekend with 26 other camping friends at our campground and fired up two turkey fryers. Everyone raved over the onion rings! Best tasting rings all had ever tasted. We went crazy with the batter. We even battered pickles, oreos and hot dogs too! Hint, make the batter up an hour or so prior to dipping so the batter starts working a little and when food is dipped, a thick coating just clings to the food items. Loved the onion rings and pickles the best! Thanks for sharing this recipe. There were many happy families enjoying it over the holiday!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Union City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iola, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SLJ6
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Loved these...me and my daughter just made them. Use a large vidalia onion, used a buttermilk complete pancake mix which you only had to add water to. I did add a little salt and fresh cracked pepper to the batter. They were great! Reminded me of the onion rings served at carnivals or fairs, light crispy battered coating. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
These are good, but very greasy. Although mine are a little uglier than the other photos, I appreciated that the batter stayed on my rings - unlike my last attempt at onion rings. Seasoning the batter is a must. If you like beer batter-type coating, you will love this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by K. Miller
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
So simple and so great! I just added a bit of salt and pepper. Everyone loved them! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K. Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
these are good. I used pancake mix but I added garlic powder, pepper and cayenne as suggested by others. I tried it with and without cornmeal. I think it's better without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States