Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Truly the best onion rings I've EVER eaten. I added a small amount of seasoned salt to the batter. I'm glad I didn't make a bigger batch or I would have eaten that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yarie
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
These came out perfect! I coated the rings in flour before dipping in batter and added some garlic powder and bread dipping spices. My nine yr old does not usually like onion rings but these were a hit with her!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Super easy and delicious. This recipe is perfect as is, bu I love everything spicy, so I added cajun seasoning, red pepper flakes and a little garlic powder. These beat restaraunt rings, hands down. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CayJenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommaChef
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This is now my 2nd time to make these onion rings. The 1st time, I used a pan on the stove to fry them. The onions needed more batter since it would slowly slide of the onion while cooking on the stove. They tasted great, but looked messy. This last time, I used a fry-daddy. Wow, what a difference. Less batter was needed to coat the onions when using the fry-daddy, and they turned out wonderful. Not only do the look good, but they taste just as good. Check out my photo, its the one with the burger and ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaChef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
These are just okay as written, spice up the batter and they're a five. I made haystacks-sliced them super thin, dipped them into the batter and used tongs to pull them back out, then fried. Faster, easier, and a lot less mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamakittyto3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
These were VERY easy!!! However..unfortunatly this house likes the other high-rated recipe on here better [[using bread crumbs]]. My respose was "good" "greasy" and.."not as crunchy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Great recipe, very easy. I added water to a mix that was supposed to have milk and eggs (but I didn't have those). It worked well anyway! I did add seasoning. About 3/4 tsp of salt and a dash of season salt. It cooked quickly, and didn't stick to the bottom of the pot. It was crispy and slightly sweet. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
These were great! Perfect texture, crisp and light, and the onion stayed with the coating. The pancake batter works perfectly. I dredged onions lightly in flour first as another reviewer suggested. Added some spices for the heck of it (just a touch of: paprika, pepper, garlic powder, dry mustard, and cayenne), but would be fine without too. I'd never deep fried before; I used a cast iron skillet, about an inch of oil, and played it by ear with the temp, adjusting as needed. Fun and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I was skeptical that such a simple recipe could be good. Even though I read all the reviews, I still made up my usual onion ring batter (it takes 3 hours of sitting time). I made the first batch with that batter and then used this pancake mix recipe for the second one. I did a taste test on my 6 hungry guests and the pancake mix onion rings were the clear winner. And it could not have been easier. I added Laury's seasoning salt to the batter and used Walla Walla Sweet Onion Rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I'm not too great in the kitchen, but my 93 yr old grandma loves onion rings. Thought I'd give it a whirl and take her some on our next visit. This was so simple. I added some salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Along with the onions we tried zuchinni. Just wonderful. My 10 year old HATES onions but she gobbled these up!! Great recipe! (PS I think I'm going to have to make another batch, these never made it to grams)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States