Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I liked the idea of this. Maybe my batter was too thick, but it was too much batter for the onion. I didn't really get much onion flavor. Using the pancake mix was a great idea. I used the same batter for smelt, and liked that better, since the smelt were bigger and had a better filling-to-batter ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
To be quite honest, I was worried these onion rings would not taste right using pancake batter, but as I had it on hand I decided to give it a try. I'm glad I did because they were great! We used standard yellow onions. These onion rings tasted just like something you would order from a restaurant. They cooked very quickly too--about 65 seconds and they were done. This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Not only is this one of the best ways to make a delicious onion ring, it is so versitile! I made this with a few moderations. I added some garlic powder, paprika, and dried parsley to the dry pancake batter. I then pre-coated them with the dry mix. After I made the pancake mix as directed (just add water). and coated them in that. I fried up 1/2 of them (350 degrees in the fryer for ~2-3 mins) just like that! Delicious. Then with the 2nd half i coated them in a breading mix (I used crushed up stuffing flavored croutons as it was the only thing I had on hand) and then fried those up too (same batter) and they were even better. this recipe was just so great I had so many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allie2988

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
These are so easy to make a delicious! Definitely a crowd-pleaser! I put a little paprika in one batch to mix things up a bit and that was great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Good! Seasoned the batter with old bay. Used my deep fryer at 350. I also reheated the left overs the next day in the convection oven and the crisped back up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mreece2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
YUMMM!! Can't get any easier than this for a frying batter. The slight sweetness makes it perfectly irrisistible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Awesome! I used the all purpous baking mix because i didn't have any pancake mix so i just added 1 C.dry baking mix,1/2C. beer and 1 egg and also added pepper,seasoned salt and garlic powder to the batter,dredged my onion rings into flour then the batter an deep fried they were awesome!! love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
These onion rings are so good. I followed the recipe exactly as written and my family enjoyed every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I loved it. I didn't have anything to eat, so making something out of nothing was nice. Plus it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Truly the best onion rings I've EVER eaten. I added a small amount of seasoned salt to the batter. I'm glad I didn't make a bigger batch or I would have eaten that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States