Onion Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Wowza!! I usually don't follow recipes exactly, but I came pretty close with this one! The only changes I made were using 2 heaping tsp of better than boullion and 2c water for the broth and adding a tsp of minced garlic once I was browning my rice. Oh and I used butter and olive oil instead of veg oil. This was a hot little dish I plan to make again. Love it when the simple and cheap dishes are total success!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I halved the recipe and ate every bite for lunch! The red onion is a key ingredient that I wouldn't substitute. I added chopped fresh garlic (yum) for the cholesterol lowering benefits. I only had Minute Rice on hand, so it took just 5 minutes to steam after browning. I cook all the time, and I've found that often it's the simple and delicious recipes like this that end up with a permanent place in my recipe file. I can't wait to try it with steamed or roasted asparagus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This dish is delicous. I used vidalia onions and less pepper. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This rice is great! I was leery of putting a whole teaspoon of black pepper in it but it have a great flavor. I sauteed it then put in the rice cooker. I also added 3 whole allspice because I love the subtle flavor enhancement. I will definitely make this again many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Use brown rice and increase the simmer time to 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I just have a question! Why does it look like this dish was made with GREEN ONIONS ???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Very good! I used a combination of yellow and green onions, olive oil instead of veg. and added 2 cloves of minced garlic. I added the black pepper to taste. We thought this had really good flavor without being too onion-y and I will be making it again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Delicious...this will be a staple in our house. Will add garlic to the onions saute next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Pretty darn good! I think I would play around with different onions and different kinds of rice and probably add some more veggies (maybe fresh spinach just before serving). As it is though, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This was very good. I was surprised. It has good flavor but it is not over powering. I used butter and not oil myself. I also put mine in the rice cooker and it worked out just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by de'Monfort

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States