Onion Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Crikkitt
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This is a simple and light rice side dish that is easy and flavorful. I recommend using a smaller amount of pepper, it was a little too much for our tastes, so we'll cut back on it the next time we make it. Other than that we enjoyed it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Everybody loved it! I made 3 cups of rice instead of 1c and increased broth to 6cups but left the rest the same and also added minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Not exciting, but a good basic side dish to accompany more flavourful meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
What a simple rice dish to make that is packed with flavor. I like the color that the red onion adds to the dish. I made as written and served it along side 'Pork Cutlets with Cranberry Wine Sauce' from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I liked this side dish but I added some italian seasoning to get more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is so good and so easy to prepare. I used extra bouillon and browned it a little (stirring constantly once the liquid was absorbed). It was better (and a lot more convenient/affordable than rice a roni, zatarans, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammigrams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spur, Texas, USA
Living In: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
yummy...made pretty much as called out except used 1/8 t of pepper as well as 1/8 t poultry seasoning and like alot of others i used yellow onions browned like called out then put it in my rice cooker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I personaly did not like it but, my mom loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I love this recipe, and my husband who hates onions even likes it. I use a yellow onion as we never have red on hand. Turns out great. I usually add water and a bouillon cube more than needed for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Millin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Was looking for a quick side dish for dinner and had these ingredients on hand. I like red onion and we love rice, so I figured this would be good. Well, I did not like it. For me, the flavors just didn't work. I used half of a medium red onion. The flavor of the onion with the pepper was just odd. Can't imagine how overwhelming it would have been with a whole onion. My husband did not care for it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States