Onion Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Very simple and plain. I added salt and I think that next time I will add more seasonings. Other than that, it is a nice change to plain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This didn't thrill me. Too much pepper (and I usually double black pepper in recipes, but not here) but what I really disliked was the texture the onions added. They were no longer crunchy, but they also weren't caramelized, so they were just...soft. We'll finish it, because it's not that much (for the record, this is a 4 serving recipe; 1/4 cup dry rice per person is THE standard serving size for rice, and adding an onion doesn't bulk that up really) so we'll give this a neutral rating of 3 stars. Not terrible, but not one we'll have again. Thanks for the recipe, I like trying things outside my comfort zone, win or lose :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Loved, loved, loved this! I served this with lentil soup, and it was the perfect accompaniment. I made it with chicken broth as the liquid, and thought it would need the lentils because it would be too bland. Nothing could be further from the truth. The rice could stand easily on its own, and I found myself stealing bites on multiple occasions while waiting for the lentil soup to finish cooking. Truly delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Very easy to make. Smells and taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Made this following the recipe and while it was delicious, HOLY PEPPER! I didn't mind the heat but it was tough for my children to get down. In the future, I will half the pepper and see how that comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetowrite73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Far Rockaway, New York, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I thought this dish was very bland and wasn't good at all. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
REALLY good! I used what I had at home: yellow onion and beef broth and some garlic. Tasted soo good! The pepper gives it a nice kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
boring and way too salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Simple to make and tastes great! I have made this 3 times and I never have any left. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyf4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Nice, simple, tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States