Onion Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I love this recipe, and my husband who hates onions even likes it. I use a yellow onion as we never have red on hand. Turns out great. I usually add water and a bouillon cube more than needed for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Millin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Was looking for a quick side dish for dinner and had these ingredients on hand. I like red onion and we love rice, so I figured this would be good. Well, I did not like it. For me, the flavors just didn't work. I used half of a medium red onion. The flavor of the onion with the pepper was just odd. Can't imagine how overwhelming it would have been with a whole onion. My husband did not care for it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Very moist and flavorful. I wanted to try it with the onion soup mix, but I didn't have any. I was pleasantly surprised how tasty this was and how simple it is to prepare. Yum .....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Good and healthy side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Hubbell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
This is a really good and simple side dish. Like another said add pepper to taste but other than that great as written but also goes well with yellow onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I get compliments every time I make this. I use vegetable broth since I don't eat chicken. Only one note, keep a little extra broth to hand, I found the rice nearly dry after 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Totally delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This is a good basic recipe. I add minced garlic. I throw mine in the rice cooker after browning then add chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
We've been making this rice for years. Only difference is we use one can of broth and then fill that can with water as a subsitution for the second can of broth. Less saltly and as equally delicious! Always double the liquid to the amount of rice used and you have a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
good but needed more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States