Onion Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Simple but very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I made this rice tonight to go alongside some meatballs. The end result was alright - not as flavorful as I thought it would be - but not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This is a great recipe! I made this for dinner with my mexican meatloaf & it was a big hit. I added a few things just per our taste. I caramelized the onions & added garlic at the end of that along with the rice which I toasted a bit, then added thyme & basil & let it simmer. Great recipe even for my family of onion haters, they couldn't believe it had onion in it ( I used a yellow one).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenandMaggie McClain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
The flavor was great toasty, nutty and sweet. My only complaint would be that the rice was kind of sticky and not the greatest consistency, but that is probably my fault
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I used brown rice, 1/2 tsp pepper and vegetable boullion. A very good change from plain rice, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Wowza!! I usually don't follow recipes exactly, but I came pretty close with this one! The only changes I made were using 2 heaping tsp of better than boullion and 2c water for the broth and adding a tsp of minced garlic once I was browning my rice. Oh and I used butter and olive oil instead of veg oil. This was a hot little dish I plan to make again. Love it when the simple and cheap dishes are total success!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I halved the recipe and ate every bite for lunch! The red onion is a key ingredient that I wouldn't substitute. I added chopped fresh garlic (yum) for the cholesterol lowering benefits. I only had Minute Rice on hand, so it took just 5 minutes to steam after browning. I cook all the time, and I've found that often it's the simple and delicious recipes like this that end up with a permanent place in my recipe file. I can't wait to try it with steamed or roasted asparagus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This dish is delicous. I used vidalia onions and less pepper. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This rice is great! I was leery of putting a whole teaspoon of black pepper in it but it have a great flavor. I sauteed it then put in the rice cooker. I also added 3 whole allspice because I love the subtle flavor enhancement. I will definitely make this again many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States