Onion Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LucyDelRey
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
I recommend that you use LONG grain rice and increase the liquid to 2 cups. The ratio should be 1 part rice to 2 parts liquid for long grained rice. I also added mixed vegetables (SEE MY PHOTO).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Photo by rocks
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
To tell the truth, I cheated by cooking it in the rice cooker. First I dumped the rice in. Next I poured in the chicken broth and onions. I melted the butter in the microwave and mixed it into the rice cooker as well (I melted it so it would get evenly distributed)... Then set to cook. Turned out fine that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This is a great base recipe. I used regular rice, added some garlic, finely diced carrot and some fresh mushrooms. I will definately be making this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Good rice, I added diced carrots, celery and green beens with the onions. A nice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I love this basic recipe. I have used it as is and have also added some extras (Like Minced broccoli) depending on the main course. It is perfect when you need a bed of rice for salmon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Good simple recipe for a rice side dish. I used brown rice, increased the broth to two cups, and used a whole small onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Loved this! I added carrots and an extra 1/2 can chicken broth!! Perfect with Lemon Garlic Talapia which is also on this site. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonesouth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky Mount, Virginia, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Nice recipe! Didn't have any chicken broth in the house, so I used a can of french onion soup. I used Basmati rice and browned it in a bit of olive oil to bring out it's natural nuttiness. Kids and hubby loved this side. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2006
I added sliced raw almonds to this dish. Suppose you could add toasted almonds also. Loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Very good! I'll be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States